Football Hall of Fame: semi-finalists revealed


The identity of the 28 modern-day semi-finalists who could be inducted into the Football Hall of Fame in 2023 has been known since Tuesday.

Only five ex-players in that group are in their first year of eligibility: tackle Joe Thomas, guard Jahri Evans, defensive end Dwight Freeney, linebacker James Harrison and cornerback Darrelle Revis.

It’s a different story for wide receiver Torry Holt, who is in for his ninth semifinal nomination. The holder of five Super Bowl rings Charles Woodson is meanwhile in his seventh appearance.

Among the semi-finalists, 15 of them will be retained in the next round of voting. The identity of the former players selected for an induction in Canton ー up to five will make their entrance ー will be revealed during the Super Bowl, on February 12 in Glendale, Arizona.

The NFL has already named lineman Joe Klecko, cornerback Ken Riley and linebacker Chuck Howley as senior finalists.

The 28 players in the running:

Eric Allen (cornerback)
Jared Allen (defensive end)
Willie Anderson (blocker)
Ronde Barber (defensive back)
Anquan Boldin (wide receiver)
Henry Ellard (wide receiver)
Jahri Evans (guard)
London Fletcher (secondeur)
Dwight Freeney (defensive end)
James Harrison (secondeur)
Rodney Harrison (Marauder)
Devin Hester (wide receiver)
Torry Holt (wide receiver)
Andre Johnson (wide receiver)
Albert Lewis (cornerback)
Robert Mathis (defensive end)
Darrelle Revis (cornerback)
Steve Smith Jr. (wide receiver)
Fred Taylor (running back)
Joe Thomas (blocker)
Zach Thomas (secondeur)
Hines Ward (wide receiver)
DeMarcus Ware (defensive end)
Ricky Watters (demi offensif)
Reggie Wayne (wide receiver)
Vince Wilfork (plaqueur)
Patrick Willis (secondeur)
Darren Woodson (Marauder)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *