French Tennis Player Terence Atmane Faces Consequences After Hitting Spectator with Racket

Terence Atmane passed very close to the correctional facility. During a fourth set where he multiplied the unforced errors (14 in total over the round) on Sunday against Sebastien Ofner, in the first round of Roland-Garros, the 22-year-old Frenchman ended up pulling the pin. After another error, the Pas-de-Calaisien hit a ball in rage, with his racket, and sent it powerfully into the stands. At the end of the trajectory, the right knee of a spectator, taken by surprise.

The referee immediately decided to suspend the game, to inquire about the condition of this woman, before calling the tournament referee. The latter, who took too long to appear on court 12 for Atmane’s liking – “Can you tell him to be fast? » (“Can you tell him to hurry up?” in French) – spoke with all stakeholders.

He first went to chat with the spectator, in an exchange captured on video by one of our photographers on site.

– Referee: “I have the rules. I will interpret the rule. »
– Spectator: “He didn’t target me, well I don’t think so. No, no but really…”
– Referee: “And were you watching when the ball arrived? »
– Spectator: “Yes, I was looking there. (she points to the field) »
– Referee: “And when the ball arrived, were you able to avoid it? »

The rest of this short interview is not audible. Returning to his bench, when Atmane made sure to remain warm on his side, without really getting involved in the discussions, Ofner spoke in turn with the referee and the referee. Once all the elements had been collected, it was decided to only issue a warning to the native of Boulogne-sur-Mer. The match then resumed at 4-1 30A in the fourth set, finally won by Ofner (6-2).

2024-05-26 21:23:02
#Terence #Atmane #touches #spectator #sending #ball #stands #RolandGarros

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *