Euro 2024: with Cristiano Ronaldo, Pepe and four Parisians… Portugal’s list

Will we have to count on this Portuguese team at Euro 2024? In any case, as in every competition, their squad has enough to place them among the natural favorites. This Tuesday, coach Roberto Martinez revealed his list of 26 players to represent the Seleção das Quinas in Germany next month (June 14-July 14).

A list without much surprise: the Spanish technician relied on a group he knows well. We find there in particular, and quite naturally, the legendary Cristiano Ronaldo, who will therefore improve his record of participation in the European Championships this summer with a sixth European summer (2004, 2008, 2012, 2016, 2020 and therefore 2024). At 39, the man who scored 42 goals in 42 games this season with Al-Nassr (Saudi Arabia) remains a pillar of this group.

The Portuguese captain, Portugal’s record holder for caps (206) and goals (126), will be accompanied by a clever mix of youth and experience. This is evidenced by the presence of Pepe, 41 years old and 136 caps, but also that of the four Portuguese from PSG: Danilo Pereira (32 years old, 71 caps), Nuno Mendes (21 years old, 20 caps), Vitinha (24 years old, 15 caps) and Gonçalo Ramos (22 years old, 11 caps).

Around them, we find some big names in European football, such as Manchester City players Rúben Dias and Bernardo Silva, Manchester United attacking midfielder Bruno Fernandez, or attackers João Félix (FC Barcelona), Rafael Leão (AC Milan ) and Diogo Jota (Liverpool). But also some nuggets and talents from the Portuguese championship, like defenders António Silva (20 years old, SL Benfica) and Gonçalo Inácio (22 years old, Sporting CP), or midfielder João Neves (19 years old, SL Benfica) .

Portugal will be favorites in Group F, where they will face Czechia (June 18, 9 p.m.), Turkey (June 22, 6 p.m.) and Georgia (June 26, 9 p.m.).

The list

Guardians. Diogo Costa (FC Porto), Jose Sa (Wolverhampton Wanderers FC), Rui Patrick (AS Roma).

Defenders. António Silva (SL Benfica), Danilo Pereira (PSG), Diogo Dalot (Manchester United), Gonçalo Inácio (Sporting CP), João Cancelo (FC Barcelona), Nélson Semedo (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Nuno Mendes (PSG), Pepe (FC Porto), Rúben Dias (Manchester City).

Terrain milieux. Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United), João Neves (SL Benfica), João Palhinha (Fulham FC), Otávio Monteiro (Al Nassr), Rúben Neves (Al-Hilal), Vitinha (PSG).

Attaquants. Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Cristiano Ronaldo (Al Nassr), Diogo Jota (Liverpool FC), Francisco Conceição (FC Porto), Gonçalo Ramos (PSG), João Félix (FC Barcelona), Pedro Neto (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Rafael Leão (AC Milan).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *