Atalanta Joins Elite Group of Europa League Champions: A Look at the Prestigious Tournament’s History and Winners

The Europa League, formerly the UEFA Cup, is one of the most prestigious championships on the European continent despite being in the shadow of the Champions League. Being in the second tier of European tournaments has not diminished its prominence and its list of champions is made up of big clubs. Sevilla is the king of kings of the competition with 7 titles, but the four teams that follow behind them are among the largest in Europe. Liverpool, Atlético de Madrid, Juventus and Inter Milan have 3 trophies.

This Wednesday Atalanta joined them. Gasperini’s team has historically managed to write his name among the Europa League champions when they started at a disadvantage against Xabi Alonso’s Bayer Leverkusen. Historic day for a modest club, but one that is taking giant steps towards being a great club in Italy.

Europa League honors: Who has won the most?

Sevilla is the king of the competition, having won the title seven times. Furthermore, Spain is the country with the most European titles on its record. As for the Europa League, Spanish clubs have a total of 14 titles. Atlético de Madrid (3), Real Madrid (2), Valencia (1) and Villarreal (1) have also won the continental tournament. On the contrary, Espanyol, Athletic Club and Alavés were on the verge of celebrating the championship in different editions.

The squad of UEFA Europa League champions

For its part, Italy manages to place itself in second position with 10 wins after Atalanta’s feat. England is relegated to third position in the ranking with 9 titles and Germany closes the podium thanks to the seven wins its teams have won.

The teams chasing Sevilla as the top winner of the Europa League are Liverpool, Juventus, Inter Milan and Atlético de Madrid with three titles each. Next, Chelsea, Göteborg, Mönchengladbach, Porto, Feyenoord, Tottenham, Real Madrid, Eintracht Frankfurt and Parma close the ranking of teams with the most European Leagues. Atalanta’s victory brings the number of clubs that have ever managed to win the Europa League to their showcases to 28.

EquipoNúmero de títulosTemporadaSevilla72022/2023, 2019/2020, 2015/2016, 2014/2015, 2013/2014, 2006/2007 y 2005/2006Liverpool32000/2001, 1975/1976 y 1972/1973Juventus31992/1993, 1989/1990 y 1976/1977Inter31997/1998, 1993/1994 y 1990/1991Atlético de Madrid32017/2018, 2011/2012 y 2009/2010Chelsea22018/2019 y 2012/2013Göteborg21986/1987 y 1981/1982Mönchengladbach21978/1979 y 1974/1975Porto22010/2011 y 2002/2003Feyenoord21973/1974 y 2001/2002Tottenham21983/1984 y 1971/1972Real Madrid21985/1986 y 1984/1985Parma21998/1999 y 1994/1995Eintracht Frankfurt22021/2022 y 1979/1980Atalanta12023/2024Bayer Leverkusen11987/1988Ajax11991/1992Anderlecht11982/1983Bayern11995/1996Schalke 0411996/1997Shakhtar Donetsk12008/2009PSV11977/1978Valencia12003/2004Manchester United12016/2017CSKA12004/2005Zenit11980/1981Ipswich11999/2000Villarreal12020/2021

What have been the format changes of the Europa League?

Related news


The current format of the Europa League was born in 2009 with the aim of making the tournament more competitive and attractive, but its beginnings date back to 1971. At first, the Fairs Cup, the future Europa League, was conceived as a alternative to the European Cup Winners’ Cup until it finally ended up replacing it. Following the absorption, the tournament was renamed the UEFA Cup. In the end, the competition became part of the Intertoto Cup in 2009 and gave rise to what is now known as the Europa League.

Follow the Diario AS channel on WhatsApp, where you will find all the sport in a single space: the news of the day, the agenda with the latest news on the most important sporting events, the most outstanding images, the opinion of the best AS firms , reports, videos, and some humor from time to time.

2024-05-22 20:53:03
#Europa #League #honors #champion #year #year #team


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *