The Race for the Last UEFA Spot in the Club Super World Cup: Arsenal or Salzburg?

17/04/2024 11:20hs.

The Champions League is the great competition to conquer. At the local level, the Premier League, Spain’s La Liga, Serie A, Bundesliga and Ligue 1 are the target for those who were unable to advance internationally. However, Nobody loses sight of the Club Super World Cup, which will be played in 2025 in the United States and will distribute $40,000,000 to each participant. With the conclusion of the Orejona, The tickets corresponding to the Old Continent were assigned. But there is still one to be defined…

Arsenal or Salzburg, the last one from UEFA to the Club Super World Cup

Of the 32 teams participating in the tournament, 12 places are reserved for UEFA: four for the champions of 2021, 2022, 2023 and 2024, and the remaining eight will be determined by the ranking. However, there is a special rule: unless they are crowned champions, two teams from the same country cannot qualify. Under this regulation, renowned teams such as Liverpool, Barcelona Milan, Manchester United, Ajax and Sevilla and they are already clear that they will not be able to travel to the United States to participate in the tournament.

In this way, Chelsea (2021), Real Madrid (2022) and Manchester City (2023) have already guaranteed their place in Pot 1 of the Club Super World Cup. Then, by classification in the ranking, Bayern Munich (3rd), PSG (4th), Inter (6th), Borussia Dortmund (8th), Porto (9th), Atlético de Madrid (10th), Benfica (13th) and Juventus (14th). Diego Simeone’s El Colchonero was the last to get his ticketdespite having fallen in the Champions League, thanks to the fact that Barcelona was eliminated and can no longer catch up in points.

With this panorama, there is only one place left to be assigned. Who does it correspond to? To the champion of this 2024 edition of the Champions League. However, if whoever consecrates himself at Wembley has already secured his ticket to the United States 2025, he will free up a place assigned by UEFA ranking. Therefore, Those who are fighting for that place are Arsenal and RB Salzburg.

Arsneal absolutely needs to win the Champions League to qualify for the Club World Cup. (AFP)

If Mikel Arteta’s Gunners win the first Champions League in their history, they will logically occupy the last place assigned to the Old Continent. In the event that the English team falls to Bayern Munich, in the semi-final or final, that place will go to RB Salzburg. Because? It turns out that both PSG and Borussia Dortmund, the two confirmed in the semis so far, have already qualified for the Club Super World Cup. And, of those playing this Wednesday, the only one that is not yet is Arsenal. Therefore, in the event of an eventual elimination of the Gunners, the 2024 champion would have already obtained their ticket previously and a place is freed up.

Then, The place will be for Salzburg, which is currently the best classified in the ranking. Although teams like Liverpool, Leipzig, Barcelona, ​​Napoli, Sevilla and Milan are better positioned in UEFA, there are already two clubs from those countries classified (maximum, except champions), which gives the advantage to the Austrian team.

Salzburg needs Arsenal not to win the Champions League to qualify. (EFE)

The 23 teams classified for the Club Super World Cup


  • Palmeiras (Brazil)*
  • Flamengo (Brazil)*
  • Fluminense (Brazil)*


  • Chelsea (England)*
  • Real Madrid (Spain)*
  • Manchester City (Inglaterra)*
  • Bayern Munich (Germany)
  • PSG (France)
  • Inter Milan (Italy)
  • Porto, Portugal)
  • Benfica (Portugal)
  • Borussia Dortmund (Germany)
  • Juventus (Italy)
  • Atlético de Madrid (Spain)


  • Rayados de Monterrey (Mexico)*
  • Seattle Sounders (United States)*
  • Club León (Mexico)*

CAF (Africa)

  • Al Ahly (Egypt)*
  • Wydad Casablanca (Morocco)*

AFC (Asia)

  • Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia)*
  • Urawa Red Diamonds (Japan)*
  • Ulsan (South Korea)

OFC (Oceania)

  • Auckland City (New Zealand)

*Champions of their respective continental competitions in the period between 2021 and 2023

Palmeiras and Flamengo, two of the Copa Libertadores champions qualified for the 2025 Club World Cup. (REUTER)
2024-04-17 23:23:36
#Club #Super #World #Cup #clubs #competing #UEFA #ticket #Olé


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *