Laver Cup 2022: Team Europe and Team World Announced as ‘Big Three’ Absent from Tournament

This year’s Laver Cup will take place in Vancouver from September 22nd to 24th. Now it is clear which players will compete for Team Europe and Team World.

For the first time, the show event, which has been held since 2017, will take place without the “big three”. Roger Federer has already ended his career, Rafael Nadal will not return to the tour until next year. Novak Djokovic, like world number one Carlos Alcaraz, is not part of the game.

Team Europe is nevertheless top-class. With Holger Rune, Casper Ruud, Stefanos Tsitsipas and Andrey Rublev, three players from the top 10 in the world rankings will be there. The team is completed by Hubert Hurkacz from Poland and Gael Monfils from France.

Team World fights for title defense

World team captain John McEnroe calls four Americans into his team: the two top ten players Taylor Fritz and Frances Tiafoe, as well as Tommy Paul and Ben Shelton. Canadian Felix Auger-Aliassime, who was there like the first two last year, and Argentinian Francisco Cerundolo complete the squad.

Team World is fighting to defend its title this year.

2023-08-24 16:05:28
#Laver #Cup #participation #Big #time


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *