Zack Fischer leads in Nordelta GC with one round to go. Santiago Bauni and Augusto Núñez are the best Latinos

Zach Fischer. Photo Enrique Berardi – AAG.

Zack Fischer, a member of the Korn Ferry Tour making his PGA TOUR Latinoamérica debut, will be the man to beat this Sunday in the closeout of the 116th VISA Open de Argentina presented by Macro. Fischer was very solid with his golf this Saturday for a round of 67 shots, free of bogeys. With a total of 202, -14, the 33-year-old has a three-shot advantage over the Swede Linus Lilliedahl, who led the first 36 holes.

Lilliedahl shot 71, closing with birdies at 15 and 17 to drop to -11 and cut a deficit that was as low as five shots. The best round of the day, a bogeyless 66, catapulted American Chandler Blanchet into third place, at -10.

Augusto Nunez. Photo Enrique Berardi – AAG.

Five shots behind the leader, fourth place is shared by the Argentines Augusto Núñez and Santiago Bauni (photo Home), with -9. Núñez had an irregular run of 71, while Bauni did 69 for the third consecutive day. One shot further, his compatriot Nelson Ledesma made 68 to tie for sixth place with Americans Evan Knight and Danny Ochoa.

In front of Fischer, Lilliedahl and Blanchet, who will start in the last group at 11:45 this Sunday, the Argentine trio of Augusto Núñez, Santiago Bauni and Nelson Ledesma will play. Its departure is scheduled for 11:34 and will indisputably be the one that attracts the majority of the public that is expected at Nordelta Golf Club.

“Today I was a little anxious to start,” Núñez admitted about an irregular day in which he could not gain ground. “I’m hitting well, but a little loose with the putter. It’s a matter of continuing to work because when one comes in, they all come in.”

In addition to keeping the title of this historic event, the champion of the VISA Open of Argentina will leave tomorrow with an invitation to play The Open Championship. The 151st edition of the British ‘major’ will be played next July at Royal Liverpool. The invitation has been extended by the R&A to every VISA Open Argentina champion since 2016. The winner will also kick off the 2022-23 PGA TOUR Latinoamérica season leading the Zurich Argentina Swing and the Totalplay Cup race.

In addition, the event will have different attractions for the public to live a unique experience, since they will be able to enjoy a great walk of brands and food trucks. Another of the proposals offered by the VISA Open of Argentina presented by Macro is the After Golf Sunset Session, which will take place on the terrace of Nordelta Golf Club at the end of the game on Sunday.

Regarding the televising of the 116th VISA Open of Argentina presented by Macro, the Argentine Golf Association will broadcast live during the four days of the championship on its YouTube channel and its website.

For its part, ESPN on Star+ (Official Broadcaster) will do special programs and two hours live on Saturday and Sunday. The rest of the week, there will be a daily recap with the most important information of the day, issued by the same media. In addition, Golf Channel Latin America will produce a Live From on the weekend. At the end of the event, there will be a summary of what happened in the tournament on the ESPN signal on Star+.

Nordelta Golf Club celebrates its 5th edition as host of this prestigious championship and has as former champions the Argentines César Costilla, Ángel Cabrera and Jorge Fernández Valdés, and the Colombian Marcelo Rozo. The layout, designed by Jack Nicklaus, was inaugurated in 2008 and is one of the most demanding golf courses in Argentina, with numerous doglegs, wide waste bunkers and various water hazards.

In addition to opening the race for the Totalplay Cup, this tournament launched the Zurich Argentina Swing, a competition that hosts the four PGA TOUR Latinoamérica tournaments in Argentina.

Did you know that the seventh edition of the Zurich Argentina Swing is being played this season? The most recent winner of this competition was the Argentine Jorge Fernández Valdés, who won the prize last season. The other winners have been Kent Bulle (2015), Samuel Del Val (2016), Jared Wolfe (2017), Clodomiro Carranza (2018) and Tom Whitney (2019).



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *