Aguerd, Fofana, Traoré… The list of the three finalists is revealed

Published on :

France 24 and RFI reveal the names of the three finalists for the Marc-Vivien Foé 2022 prize, which rewards the best African footballer who played in Ligue 1 during the 2021-2022 season. Malian Hamari Traoré, Moroccan Nayef Aguerd and Ivorian midfielder Seko Fofana remain in the race.

Advantage Rennes for this 2022 edition of the RFI-France 24 Marc-Vivien Foé prize. The three contenders in the final to succeed Congolese Gaël Kakuta were announced on Thursday April 28: Malian Hamari Traoré, Moroccan Nayef Aguerd and Ivorian midfielder Seko Fofana.

Here is the portrait of the three finalists in alphabetical order:

• Nayef Aguerd (Stade Rennes / Morocco)

Nayef Aguerd. © Jean-Francois Monier, AFP

If Rennes is firmly established in the top five of Ligue 1, the Moroccan is no stranger to it. The Lion of the Atlas is unstoppable in central defense, where his stature imposes (1.88 m, 76 kilos). With him, Stade Rennes has one of the best defenses in the championship.

• Seko Fofana (Racing Club of Lens / Ivory Coast)

Seko Fofana.
Seko Fofana. © François Lo Presti, AFP

He had finished 7e of the Marc-Vivien Foé Prize in 2021. This year, the Ivorian has gained weight again with RC Lens, the club of which he is the captain. To the point of being considered one of the best midfielders in Ligue 1. At almost 27 years old, his future may lie elsewhere than in the north of France.

• Hamari Traoré (Stade Rennes / Mali)

Hamari Traore
Hamari Traore © Jean-Christophe Verhaegen, AFP

Announced on the departure last summer, the supersonic side finally stayed in Rennes and was even promoted to captain there. Since then, the Malian has continued his momentum, chaining convincing performances in his right lane and multiplying the assists.

NB: are eligible for the Marc-Vivien Foé prize players who have worn the colors of an African national team and who have played at least 15 league matches 1 this season.

• Winners of previous editions

2021: Gaël Kakuta (DR Congo)

2020 : Victor Osimhen (Nigeria)

2019: Nicolas Pépé (Ivory Coast)

2018: Karl Toko-Ekambi (Cameroon)

2017: Jean Michaël Seri (Ivory Coast)

2016 : Sofiane Boufal (Maroc)

2015 : André Ayew (Ghana)

2014: Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria)

2013 : Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)

2012: Younes Belhanda (Maroc)

2011: Gervinho (Ivory Coast)

2010: Gervinho (Ivory Coast)

2009: Marouane Chamakh (Maroc)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.