Five Premier League rugby directors who have had extraordinary promotions have been listed on Ricoh Director of the Rugby of the Season award.

In what has been one of the most competitive Gallagher Premiership Rugby seasons, the men at the helm have had everything to do as the battle for league positions intensified over nine months of competition.

And with the Gallagher Premiership Rugby Final, approaching the long list, has been knocked down to only five thanks to a panel of judges, including a primarily public vote.

The winner will be announced on Wednesday, May 22 at the star language 2019 Premiership Rugby Awards, presented by Gallagher. The full Ricoh Rugby director in the season ticket list is:

Johan Ackermann – Gloucester Rugby
Rob Baxter – Exeter Chiefs
Chris Boyd – Northampton Saints
Pat Lam – Bristol Bears
Mark McCall – Saracens

While McCall and Baxter have won this recognition before – the earlier on three occasions – Ackermann, Boyd and Lam all seek to take home the prize for the first time.

While nearly 4,000 fans voted through the official Premier League Rugby app, the panel of judges was completed by Nick Mullins (BT Sport), Alastair Eykyn (BT Sport), Mick Cleary (Daily Telegraph), Sarah Mockford (Rugby World), Robert Kitson (The Guardian), Chris Jones (BBC 5 Live), Owen Slot (The Times) and Tom Hamilton (ESPN), with Premier League Rugby Communications Director Paul Morgan leading the panel.

Along with the winner of Ricoh's director of the season, the winners of the following awards will also be announced at the Premiership Rugby Awards in 2019, presented by Gallagher:

Gallagher Premiership Rugby Player of the Season
Land Rover Discovery of the Season
BT Sport Dream Team
Gallagher Community Player of the Season
Premiership Rugby 7s playing of the season
Top Try the scores of the season
Gilbert Golden Boat
Citizen Try the season

The winners at the 2019 Premiership Rugby Awards, presented by Gallagher, will be announced first on Twitter via the @ premrugby account. Use the hashtag #PremRugbyAwards to join the conversation.

WATCH: Part Five of The Academy, the Rugby Pass documentary about Leicester Tigers

Video spacer

Watch the Heineken Champions Cup Final live on RugbyPass throughout Asia and Australia.

Bristol (t) Exeter (t) Gallagher Premiership (s) Gloucester (t) Northampton (t) Saracener Union


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.