Venezuelan team Tiburones de La Guaira wins its first Caribbean Series championship

  • By beating Tigres del Licey 3-0, Tiburones de La Guaira won its first championship and the eighth title for Venezuela in the tournament | Photo: Ballparks of Baseball

Tiburones de La Guaira made history in the early hours of February 10 by winning, for the first time, the Caribbean Series championship.

They did so after beating the Tigres del Licey (Dominican Republic) 3-0 at the LoanDepot Park stadium in Miami, Florida (United States).

With this victory, the sharks achieved the eighth title for Venezuela, after 15 years, when the Tigres de Aragua defeated the Venados de Mazatlán (Mexico) in 2009.

Pitcher Ricardo Pinto received the Most Valuable Player recognition of the tournament. The starter struck out 6 batters in the 5.2 innings that the match lasted, only allowing four hits, walking one and favoring Venezuela’s victory.

With this victory, Oswaldo Guillén became the only manager in the world to win a Caribbean Series, a World Baseball Series and a Venezuelan Professional Baseball League championship.

Record attendance

Venezuelans and Dominicans faced off before a record attendance of 36,677 fans who watched the game at Miami’s LoanDepot Park.

This is the highest spectator participation in the history of the Caribbean Series, surpassing the final of the 2023 World Baseball Classic, which was attended by 36,098 fans.

Match summary

The Dominicans’ first threat came in the same first inning, when with two out, Robinson Canó hit a double off Pinto, who then made Daweel Lugo miss with a strong line drive to left field that Cuban Yasiel Puig took, diving headfirst to finish. the entrance.

At the end of that first inning, the sharks put men on first and second, but Yasiel Puig grounded out to the shortstop to end the threat.

In the second, the Sharks took men to first and third, but César Valdez, who started for the Dominicans, dominated Alexis Amarista with a ground ball to first.

However, Venezuela won in the fourth inning, when Odubel Herrera scored the first run, driven by Alcides Escobar. Previously Herrera entered for Yasiel Puig, who left the game due to discomfort, but before that he hit a hit that contributed to the 1-0 in favor of Venezuela.

Then in the fifth episode Wilfredo Tovar scored the second goal for Tiburones after a triple by Hernán Pérez, and he scored the third driven by Odubel Herrera to leave the score 3-0.

The match remained with the same result until the end of the scoreboard, but with great defensive work by Tiburones, who dispatched any attempt by the Tigres del Licey to finish with runs the opportunities they had with men on base.

Tiburones had just defeated the Soles de Curacao 6-2 in the semifinals, while the Dominican Republic defeated the Federales de Chiriquí (Panama) 4-1.

Line-up of Venezuela vs. Dominican Republic

For this game, Venezuela had Ricardo Pinto as starter, while the Tigres started with César Valdéz.

He line-up of the La Guaira Sharks was the following: Alexi Amarista, Wilfredo Tovar, Hernán Pérez, Wilson Ramos, Yasiel Puig, Ramón Flores, Luis Torrens, Leonardo Reginatto, Alcides Escobar and Ricardo Pinto. Puig had to leave due to discomfort and was replaced by Odubel Herrera.

For their part, the Tigers presented their lineup to the following players: Emilio Bonifacio, Gustavo Núñez, Robinson Canó, Dawel Lugo, Yadiel Hernández, Wester Rivas, Kelvin Gutiérrez, Héctor Rodríguez, Junior Lake and César Valdéz.

Registration of both teams

In the 2023 Caribbean Series, which was played at the Monumental Simón Bolívar stadium in la Rinconada, the Dominican Republic and Venezuela also faced each other. On that occasion, the Leones del Caracas lost 3-0 against the Tigres de Licey.

The first time that an LVBP team won the Caribbean Series was in 1970 with the Navegantes del Magallanes. With this, the country has eight crowns. The previous one was in 2009 with the Tigres de Aragua.

Since Venezuela began participating in the Caribbean Series, the Tiburones de La Guaira had not won this title for the country. Their best participation in the Caribbean tournament was in 1983 and 1986, when they were runners-up.

For its part, the Dominican Republic is the country that has the most titles in the Caribbean Series and the Tigres de Licey have accumulated a total of 11 of their country’s 22 victories.

Related news

2024-02-10 08:57:43
#Venezuela #proclaimed #champion #years


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *