Kansas City Chiefs to Face Baltimore Ravens in Sixth Consecutive AFC Championship Game

Los Kansas City Chiefs advanced for the sixth consecutive year AFC Championship Gamewhere they will face the Baltimore Ravens as visitors.

The match will be played on Sunday January 28 at 3:00 p.m. ET on the M&T Bank Stadium the Baltimore.

After defeating the Buffalo Billslos Chiefs were two more wins away from becoming the first two-time champions of the NFL since they did it New England Patriots in the 2003 and 2004 seasons.

And although the road is still quite complicated for Andy Reid y los Chiefspeople start to wonder If there are teams and how many have managed to win two Super Bowls in consecutive years.

And the answer is yes. In the history of the NFL there are several franchises that have won in consecutive years, and even one that has done so up to two occasions.

The start of the Super Bowl, dominated by Vince Lombardi and the Packers

Since the beginning of the NFL, a September 17, 1920and until the 1960s, the champion team was defined by finishing with the best record in a season.

In 1960, Lamar Hunt create the AFLand he was the founding owner of the Kansas City Chiefs to be the first team in the new league, along with other franchises that were:

  • Oakland Raiders
  • Los Angeles Chargers
  • Buffalo Bills
  • Miami Dolphins
  • Houston Oilers (Tennesse Titans)
  • N.Y. Titans (Jets)
  • Dallas Texans (Cowboys)
  • Cincinnati Bengals
  • Denver Broncos
  • Boston Patriots (New England)

The NFL decides to merge both leagues to play a single game for the United States football titleand in 1967 the first Super Bowl was played, known then as the World Championship Gamewhich was disputed between the Packers and the Chiefswith victory for the team Vince Lombardi 35-10, and it was played at the Los Angeles Coliseum, the January 15, 1967.

Who are the teams that have been champions in consecutive years in the NFL?

Green Bay Packers

The first team to win two Super Bowls in a row were the Green Bay Packersprecisely in the first two editions of the match, when the game was still called World Championship Gameby the legendary Vince Lombardi.

The Packers defeated Chiefs y a Oakland Raiders to be the first two-time NFL champions.

Miami Dolphins

Later the Miami Dolphins of Don Shula won in the Super Bowl VII and VIIIdefeating Washington and Minnesota.

The first of those two Miami titles has a special meaning, since until now it is the only team to win a Super Bowl undefeated throughout the season.

Pittsburgh Steelers, the only one to achieve it twice

The famous “Steel Curtain” of the Pittsburgh Steelers, They defeated Minnesota and Dallas in editions IX and X, respectively, with one of the best teams of all time.

With names like the coach Chuck Noll, Terry Bradshaw, Franco Harris, Lynn Swann, John Stalworth, Joe Greene, Mel Bount, Jack Lambert y Mike Websterall of them Hall of Fame members.

Pittsburgh is the only team to have won twice in consecutive yearssince they then won again two years in a row in the XIII (vs Dallas) and XIV (Rams) editions.

San Francisco 49ers

Los San Francisco 49ers of Joe Montana y Bill Walsh They achieved it by winning the Super Bowl XXIII y XXIV with the famous West Coast offensive.

The Californians defeated first Cincinnati and then Denver to become two-time champions.

Dallas Cowboys

The decade of the 90s will undoubtedly be remembered in the NFL for two teams: Dallas Cowboys y Buffalo Bills.

Dallas beat the Buffalo Bills two years in a row in the Super Bowls XXVII y XXVIIIhand in hand with the coach Jimmy Johnsonnext to Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith y Michael Irving.

The Bills are the only team that has reached Super Sunday four times in a rowlosing all four.

Denver Broncos

Los Denver Broncos of the coach Mike Shanahanthey won in the editions 32 and 33after beating the Packers and the Atlanta Falcons, was a worthy farewell and an unbeatable setting for the retirement of one of the best quarterbacks of all time: John Elway.

New England Patriots

Without a doubt one of the best dynasties in all of history was the team led by Bill Belichickand commanded from the field of play by Tom Brady.

Although that duo won even in six times the NFL title gameonly on one occasion were they able to achieve it in consecutive years.

The Patriots defeated in the Super Bowl XXXVIII a los Carolina Panthersand in the XXXIX a los Philadelphia Eagles.

2024-01-22 20:32:43
#teams #managed #win #Super #Bowl #row


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *