Uruguay will be in group C with the United States, Panama and Bolivia

FútbolUy. Followed on Twitter @futbolportaluy

The South American Football Confederation (Conmebol) held the draw for the Copa América 2024, which will take place between the months of June and July in the United States and where Uruguay was placed in group C with the United States, Panama and Bolivia.

The ceremony, which was attended by Gianni Infantino, president of FIFA, as well as renowned footballers including the former Uruguayan captain Diego Godín, began with words from Alejandro Domínguez, exalting the achievements achieved by his management at the head of Conmebol and mentioning that this edition of the competition: “It has the current world champion team [Argentina]the first world champion team [Uruguay]the only five-time world champion [Brasil] and the best players on the planet in action.

Then the competition’s mascot named Captain was introduced: “An eagle that represents the unique fusion between the South American passion for soccer and the vibrant American atmosphere.” Also the ball that will be used in the fair, now from the Puma brand, called “Summit” and which was brought to the stage by the brand ambassador, Pharaoh Godín.

During the event, Godín said that “Winning the 2011 title in Argentina and against the local team made it very special. There is nothing more valuable than winning a cup with your team and it was the most sentimentally valuable title of my career.”

The draw

The draw for the fair had the participation of four world football stars such as the Brazilian Ronaldinho, the Paraguayan Roque Santa Cruz, the Mexican Jorge Campos and the Argentine Javier Zanetti.

There, those led by Marcelo Bielsa were lucky to be placed in group C, where the top seed will be the United States and also includes Panama and Bolivia. Although those from the highlands had been placed in group A in the first instance, by draw regulations they were transferred to our team.

The format of the competition implies that of the four groups, the two best countries in each group will advance to the quarterfinals, the winners of those groups will go to the semifinals and the winners will play for the title.

The Celeste group will clash with D, perhaps the most complicated of all since the group is made up of Brazil, Colombia, Paraguay and the winner of Honduras or Costa Rica.

The opening match will be at the Mercedes-Benz Stadium in the city of Atlanta, which has a capacity for 71,000 spectators and was inaugurated in 2017.

The final will be at the Hard Rock Stadium in Miami, which has a capacity for approximately 75,000 spectators, and was inaugurated in 1987.

The president of the Uruguayan Football Association, Ignacio Alonso, commented when interviewed on DirecTV Sports when asked about the absence of Marcelo Bielsa in the ceremony that: “He is working with the focus on the Pre-Olympic Championships in Venezuela [enero próximo], which is extremely important for all of us. We are all focused on that competition and that is why it was decided that Jorge Giordano would be present [Director de
Selecciones Nacionales] and Matías Pérez [neutral de la AUF por los jugadores].


Group A: Argentina, Peru, Chile, Canada or Trinidad and Tobago.
Group B: Mexico, Ecuador, Venezuela and Jamaica.
Group C: United States, Uruguay, Panama and Bolivia.
Group D: Brazil, Colombia,Paraguay and Honduras or Costa Rica.



Date: Sunday June 23
Estadio: Hard Rock Stadium
City: Miami


Date: Thursday June 27
Estadio: Metlife Stadium
Ciudad: East Rutherford, N. Jersey


Date: Monday July 1.
Estadio: Arrowhead Stadium
City; Kansas City, Missouri


– Allegiant Stadium, Las Vegas, Nevada
– AT&T Stadium, Arlington, Texas
– Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte, North Carolina
– Children’s Mercy Park, Kansas City, Kansas
– Exploria Stadium, Orlando, Florida
– GEHA Field at Arrowhead Stadium, Kansas City, Missouri
– Hard Rock Stadium, Miami Gardens, Florida
– Levi’s Stadium, Santa Clara, California
– Mercedes-Benz Stadium, Atlanta, Georgia
– MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford, New Jersey
– NRG Stadium, Houston, Texas
– Q2 Stadium, Austin, Texas
– SoFi Stadium, Inglewood, California
– State Farm Stadium, Glendale, Arizona

FútbolUy. Followed on Twitter @futbolportaluy

FútbolUy – Montevideo Portal

2023-12-08 00:30:00
#Uruguay #group #United #States #Panama #Bolivia


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *