Those who were passing, one by one, before Manu came up

The induction ceremony for the Class of 2022 to the Hall of Fame was presented by Ahmad Rashad.

Manu’s shoes and the TV presentation

Jerry West and Alonzo Mourning took the stage to pay tribute to the myth Bill Russell, who died this year.

The first honoree was Tim Hardaway.

“Thanks to the gentleman upstairs, without him it would not have been possible. My journey from the south side of Chicago to the Hall of Fame was hard, with obstacles and doubts,” said Hardaway, who was introduced by Isiah Thomas, Mitch Richmond, Chris Mullin, Yolanda Griffith, and Nate Archibald.

Then it was the turn of Del Harris (85 years old), in the role of collaborator with the sport after a career of more than 45 years as a coach and others as a player and manager.

He was chosen as the best coach of the 1994-1995 season, in charge of the Los Angeles Lakers.

Next up was the noted referee – who passed away this year – Hugh Evans.

Theresa Shank-Grentz (70 years old) also had her place, one of the best players in college women’s basketball in the 70s and who later became a coach.

Coach Bob Huggins (West Virginia University), one of only six coaches with 900+ wins in college basketball, coached 24 NCAA teams

Radivoj Korac was one of the top scorers in European basketball and died in 1969, at just 31 years old, following a car accident.

Lindsay Whalen was one of the best point guards in women’s basketball, becoming a four-time WNBA champion and chosen among the 25 best players in history. She too, she is a two-time Olympic champion and a two-time world champion with the United States.

Later it was the turn of “Sweet” Lou Hudson, who was a six-time NBA All-Star and legend of the Atlanta Hawks, arrived post mortem to the Hall of Fame.

A talented player, with a lot of goals in his hands and who averaged 20.2 points per game.

Later, the highlight was Marianne Stanley, the coach who at 68 is still active.

George Karl, another historical coach, was chosen as the best in the NBA in 2012-13 and is one of the nine DTs who won more than 1,000 NBA games.

Larry Costello, NBA champion as player (1967 with Philadelphia) and coach (1971 with Milwaukee) arrives postmortem. His daughters remembered him.

Swin Cash, a three-time WNBA champion, two-time NCAA champion, two-time Olympic champion and one-time world champion was next up.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *