Zierbena, Urdaibai, Kaiku and Ondarroa will be at La Concha

The Biscayan army will have as rivals Hondarribia, who has made the best time in the qualifying round, Orio, Getaria and Donostiarra who already had a guaranteed ticket

There are all who are. This year’s Flag of La Concha will only feature Basque traineras -four from Biscay and four from Gipuzkoa- The favorites have not failed in the qualifying round. Hondarribia has been the best of the time trial from start to finish and the only one that has been able to lower the barrier of twenty minutes at the finish line. Notice to navigators of Mikel Orbañanos’s men ahead of the fight for the flag.

The ‘Ama Guadalupekoa’ has surpassed Zierbena by no less than 16 seconds, who has made the best regatta of the season and has finished second. An important injection of spirits for the squad led by Jon Elortegi ‘Txapas’ after a rather poor season so far. Orio has occupied the third position, just over two seconds from the ‘galipos’. Getaria, fourth in the tie, has put the icing on the cake of their great summer. From now on, those of Jon Larrañaga have to enjoy themselves. Along with Zierbena, the Biscayan navy will also be made up of Urdaibai, Kaiku and Ondarroa who have occupied the fifth, sixth and seventh position, respectively.

The ‘damn’ eighth place in the qualifying round was on this occasion for Cabo Cruz, three seconds behind the ‘Antiguako Ama’. This septet will compete the next two Sundays, together with Donostiarra, for the season’s top event, in which everyone starts from scratch.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *