CYCLING: The miscalculation was this time the leader, not the team

Moment in which Van Aert realizes that Gaudu had overtaken him over the finish line. / AFP

Van Aert raises his arms before Gaudu overtakes him over the finish line on a hilltop finish day at the Dauphiné

Gaizka Lasa

Second frustration in two days for Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) at the Dauphiné, and this time at his own risk. If on Monday his team made a mistake in the calculation when it came to neutralizing the leak invalidating his first place in the sprint from behind, yesterday it was the Belgian champion who did not measure well, leaving an embarrassing photo for history. So convinced was he that he was winning the select Chastreix-Sancy sprint that he raised his arms in victory. Released from his hands, from the heights of complacency, he found that David Gaudu (Groupama) slipped away from him to the right. He understood instantly. Before putting his hands on the handlebars again, he transformed the gesture of celebration into lament. He didn’t need photo-finish.

He won the inaugural stage on Sunday, and could have been full of victories at this point if there had not been a team error and a personal mistake, so the leadership he regained yesterday, the first high-altitude finish, did not console. Even Jonas Vingegaard, with stripes already as the leader of the Dutch team, put himself at the service of the Belgian so that what happened the day before would not happen. The second classified in the last Tour de France led the group of chosen in the last two kilometers to guarantee a group arrival. So internalized was Van Aert’s outcome that he betrayed the winning gesture.

  • 74º Dauphine
    4ª stage

  • 1. David Gaudu (Groupama) 4h09

  • 2
    Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) mt

  • 3
    Victor Lafay (Cofidis) m.t.

  • 4
    Ruben Guerreiro (EF) mt

  • 81. Gorka Izagirre (Movistar) a 2

  • General

  • 1. Wout Van Aert (Jumbo) 12h50

  • 2
    David Gaudu (Groupama) a 6

  • 3
    Victor Lafay (Cofidis) a 12

  • The Womens Tour
    2ª stage

  • 1. Lorena Wiebes (DSM) 2h19

  • 2
    B. Guarischi (Movistar) mt

  • 3
    Shari Bossuyt (Canyon) m.t.

  • Adriatic-Ionic
    4ª stage

  • 1. Riccardo Lucca (Work Service) 3h47

  • 2
    Emil Dima (Giotti Victoria) at 24

  • 3
    Riccardo Verza (Zalf Euromobil) at 28

  • 22. Mikel Iturria (Euskaltel) a 1

  • 96. Xabier Isasa (Euskaltel) a 18

Today, time trial of 32 key kilometers for the general.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *