When Novak Djokovic won his first seven-title record at the Australian Open in 2008, it was the third seed behind Roger Federer (1) and Rafael Nadal (2). Twelve years later, Nadal (1), Djokovic (2) and Federer (3) continue to lead the way in Melbourne as the top three seeds in the first Grand Slam tournament of the ATP Tour 2020 season.

Djokovic, who defeated Nadal in last year’s Australian Open final, renewed his rivalry with the Spaniard last Sunday in the ATP Cup final. Djokovic prevailed 6-2, 7-6 (4) in his 55th ATP Head2Head clash and then joined forces with Viktor Troicki in the decisive double to win Serbia’s victory.

With his second Australian Open title, world number 1 Nadal would have equaled Federer’s Grand Slam 20 record. Nadal defeated Switzerland in the 2009 final and was runner-up on four other occasions (2012, 2014, 2017, 2019). Federer is a six-time champion in Melbourne, including back-to-back titles in 2017-18.

The 2020 Australian Open camp also includes a series of young challengers, led by 23-year-old Russian Daniil Medvedev, who has reached his first Grand Slam final at the US Open (from l. To Nadal). Dominic Thiem, 26, and the last two Nitto ATP Final winners, 21-year-old Stefanos Tsitsipas and 22-year-old Alexander Zverev, complete the first eight suits.

In the doubles, Americans Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan – six Australian Open record winners – will make their final appearance in Melbourne. The Bryans will retire after the 2020 US Open.

Here is everything you need to know about the Australian Open: when is the draw, what is the program, who won, how to buy tickets and more.

You may also like:

Djokovic Masterclass seals record seventh Australian Open Crown

Established: 1905

Tournament dates: 14-27 January 2019

Tournament director: Craig Tiley

Draw Ceremony: Thursday 16th January from 6.00pm

Are you there? Sign up to receive tournament updates in your inbox

Program (View on the official website)
* Qualifying: Tuesday 14 January – Friday 17 January
* From the first to the fourth round: from Monday 20 January to Monday 27 January from 11 to 19
* Quarter-finals: Tuesday 28 January and Wednesday 29 January from 11 to 19
* Semi-finals: Thursday 30 January and Friday 31 January not before 19:30
* Double mixed final: Saturday 1 February after the women’s single final
* Double finals: Sunday 2 February at 16:00
* Single final: Sunday 2 February at 19:30

How to look
Watch live on Tennis TV


seat: Melbourne Park
Main Court seating: 15,000

Prizes: The Australian Open offers record cash prizes in 2020: AUD 71 million (USD 49,564,735), an increase of 13.6% over last year’s event. The jackpot in Melbourne nearly tripled from $ 25 million AUD ($ 17,452,371) in 2011.

Cash prizeUSD 527,880 (total financial commitment USD 589,680)


Tickets on sale: Buy now

View who is playing, past champions, seeds, points and cash prizes

Honor Roll (Open Era)
Most of the titles, singles: Novak Djokovic (7)
Most of the titles, doubles: Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (6)
Older sample: Ken Rosewall, 37, in 1972
Youngest champion:
Mats Wilander, 19, in 1983

Hashtag: #AusOpen

Facebook: @AustralianOpen
Twitter: @AustralianOpen
Instagram: @australianopen
YouTube: Australian Open TV

Did you know… Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Stefanos Tsitsipas and Nick Kyrgios will join the likes of Serena Williams and Naomi Osaka at the AO Rally for Relief on Wednesday January 15 to help raise funds for Australian aid against forest fires.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.