Simon Amor has named his 12-player squad for the return leg of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series on December 8 and 9, 2018 in Cape Town, which will be broadcast live on Sky Sports.

The squad, who won bronze in the first round last weekend in Dubai, was changed twice when England defeated Australia 15-14 after losing to New Zealand in the Cup semi-final.

Injured Ollie Lindsay-Hague and Richard de Carpentier, who traveled to Dubai as 13 of the teamth Man, is replaced by Ryan Olowofela and James Rodwell.

Olowofela, the English Sevens Academy player, made his World Series debut in Sydney last season before scoring his first World Series attempt in Hamilton the following weekend.

"Our bronze medal win this past weekend in Dubai was a great opportunity to start our World Series campaign this season," said English Heads Heads Sevens Cupid.

"It's always interesting to see what changes the teams make during the pre-season, and how this will affect the first leg of the World Series, and Dubai has shown that the standard of competition is higher and more intense than ever."

In Pool C, England will compete against Kenya, France and Fiji at the Cape Town Stadium on Saturday 8 December.

Amor added, "We are obviously very disappointed to have lost Ollie and Richard this weekend, and we have a very physical pool for Cape Town. So, the recovery this week was the key to making sure we hit the weekend best.

"We're always looking forward to playing in Cape Town, where fans are always so invested, and the fast, flat space matches the pace of the game we're playing out there."

Pool C-Games of England, broadcast live on Sky Sports (GMT):

England vs. Kenya, 9:21

England vs. France, 12:42

England vs. Fiji, 16:03

Squad from England Men Sevens for Dubai:

Dan Bibby, Tom Bowen, Phil Burgess, Alex Davis, Mike Ellery, Harry Glover, Charlton Kerr, Tom Mitchell (Capt), Will Muir, Dan Norton, Ryan Olowofela and Ethan Waddleton.

13th man: James Rodwell



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.