Haskins, Bush receive the highest awards from the AP All-Big Ten Team - Associated Press

Haskins, Bush receive the highest awards from the AP All-Big Ten Team - Associated Press

1 of 6

FILE – This Saturday, November 17, 2018, a photo of Dwayne Haskins Jr.'s file (7) comes under pressure from a Maryland defender in the second half of NCAA football game in College Park, Md. Haskins , on offensive player of the year, when Associated Press's All-Big Ten Conference team was released Wednesday, December 5, 2018. (AP Photo / Nick Wass, File)

Dwayne Haskins Jr., Ohio, is the offensive player of the year, and Michigan defender Devin Bush is the defensive player of the year when Associated Press's All-Big Ten conference team was released Wednesday.

Freshman recipient Rondale Moore of Purdue was named Newcomer of the Year, and Northwestern's Pat Fitzgerald was named Coach of the Year after leading the Wildcats into the Big Ten championship for the first time.

Michigan had seven players in the first team, including five from the country's highest defensive line. Wisconsin had five first-place finishes, and Ohio State's conference master had three.

Haskins set Big Ten records in his first year as a starter and led the nation with 4,580 pass yards and 47 touchdown passes. He has more than 300 meters in nine games, including five games over 400 meters.

Bush was a disturbing force for Michigan. He led the team with 80 tackles and was ranked second in his linebacker position in sacks (five) and takes for loss (9.5).

Moore occupied two places as a wide receiver and all-purpose player. Moores's 103 receptions are the second highest of the nation's and one season's of a big-ten player, and his 1,164 receipts head the conference. Moore also rushed for 203 yards on 18 trages and returned punts and kicks for the Boilermakers.

Four of the five Wisconsin picks for the first team are repeat picks – Jonathan Taylor, offensive players Michael Deiter and Beau Benzschawel and linebacker T.J. Edwards Taylor was a unanimous decision. The defensive lineman Dre & # 39; Mont Jones from Ohio made also the first team for the second year in a row.

Fitzgerald, a 13th-century coach in the northwestern United States, led the Wildcats in the Big Ten to an 8-1 record, achieving the best results in program history. They went 3-0 in the non-conference game and had to overcome a series of injuries to win their first title in the West Division.

The All-Big Ten team was selected by 27 authors and broadcasters covering the conference.


The Associated Press All-Big Ten Conference football team with position, name, school, height, weight, class and hometown:



WR – Rondale Moore, Purdue, 5-9, 175, Fr., New Albany, Indiana.

WR – Tyler Johnson, Minn., 6-2, 200, Jr., Minneapolis.

T – Isaiah Prince, Ohio State, 6-7, 310, Sr., Greenbelt, Maryland.

T – Jon Runyan, Michigan, 6-5, 310, Sr., Moorestown, New Jersey.

G – Michael Deiter, Wisconsin, 6-6, 310, Sr., Curtice, Ohio.

G-Beau Benzschawel, Wisconsin, 6-6, 315, Sr., Grafton, Wisconsin.

C – Tyler Biadasz, Wisconsin, 6-3, 319, So., Amherst, Wisconsin.

TE – T.J. Hockenson, Iowa, 6-5, 250, So, Chariton, Iowa.

QB – Dwayne Haskins Jr., Ohio State, 6-3, 214, So., Potomac, Maryland.

u-RB – Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin, 5-11, 221, Sun., Salem, New Jersey.

RB – Karan Higdon, Michigan, 5-10, 202, Sr., Sarasota, Florida.

PK – Chase McLaughlin, Ill., 6-1, 190, Sr., Cypress, Texas.

All Purpose – Rondale Moore, Purdue, 5-9, 175, Fr., New Albany, Indiana.


DE __ Kenny Willekes, Michigan State, 6-4, 260 Jr., Rockford, Michigan.

Chase Winovich, Michigan, 6-3, 255, sr., Jefferson Hills, Pennsylvania.

DT __ Raequan Williams, Michigan, 6-4, 300 yrs, Chicago.

DT __ Dre'Mont Jones, Ohio State, 6-3, 290 years, Cleveland.

LB – Devin Bush, Michigan, 5-11, 233 Jr., Pembroke Pines, Florida.

LB-Paddy Fisher, Northwestern, 6-4, 241, So., Katy, Texas.

LB – T.J. Edwards, Wisconsin, 6-1, 242, Sr., Lake Villa, Illinois.

CB – Amani Oruwariye, Penn State, 6-1, 203, Sr., Tampa, Florida.

CB – Lavert Hill, Michigan, 5-11, 181, Jr., Detroit.

S – Josh Metellus, Michigan, 6-0, 204, Jr., Pembroke Pines, Florida.

S-Amani Hooker, Iowa, 6-0, 210, Jr., Minneapolis.

P – Will Hart, Michigan, 6-3, 192, Jr., Hunting Valley, Ohio.




WR – Stanley Morgan Jr., Nebraska, 6-1, 195, Sr., New Orleans.

WR – Parris Campbell, Ohio State, 6-1, 208, Sr., Akron, Ohio.

T – David Edwards, Wisconsin, 6-7, 315 Jr., Downers Grove, Illinois.

T – Alaric Jackson, Iowa, 6-7, 320, Su., Detroit.

G – Ross Reynolds, Iowa, 6-4, 295, Sr., Waukee, Iowa.

G – Ben Bredeson, Michigan, 6-5, 320, Jr., Hartland, Wisconsin.

C – Michael Jordan, Ohio, 6-7, 310 Jr., Canton, Michigan.

TE – Noah Fant, Iowa, 6-5, 241, Jr., Omaha, Nebraska.

QB – Trace McSorley, Penn State, 6-0, 201, Sr., Ashburn, Virginia.

RB – Miles Sanders, Penn State, 5-11, 215, Jr., Pittsburgh.

RB – Antony McFarland, Maryland, 5-8, 193, Fr., Hyattsville, Maryland.

PK – Matt Coghlin, Michigan State, 5-9, 190, Sun., Cincinnati.

General Purpose – Smith-Marsette, Iowa, 6-1, 175, So., Newark, New Jersey.


DE – A.J. Epensea, Iowa, 6-5, 277, So., Glen Carbon, Illinois.

DE – Rashan Gary, Michigan, 6-5, 283 Jr., Plainfield, New Jersey.

DE – Carter Coughlin, Minn., 6-4, 245, Jr., Eden Prairie, Minnesota.

DT – Robert Windsor, Penn State, 6-4, 295 years, Fond du Lac, Wisconsin.

LB – Tre Watson, Maryland, 6-2, 236, Sr., Tampa, Florida.

LB – Joe Bachie, Michigan State, 6-2, 238 Jr., Brook Park, Ohio.

LB – Blake Cashman, Minn., 6-2, 235, Sr., Eden Prairie, Minnesota.

CB – David Long, Michigan, 5-11, 198 yrs, Los Angeles.

CB – Justin Layne, Michigan State, 6-3, 185 yrs, Cleveland.

S – Darnell Savage Jr., Maryland, 5-10, 200, Sr., Newark, Delaware.

S – Jordan Fuller, Ohio State, 6-2, 204, jr. Old Tappan, New Jersey.

P – Drue Chrisman, Ohio State, 6-3, 215, So., Lawrenceburg, Indiana.


Offense Player of the Year – Dwayne Haskins Jr., Ohio State, 6-3, 214, Sun., Potomac, Maryland.

Defensive Player of the Year – Devin Bush, Michigan, 5-11, 233 Jr., Pembroke Pines, Florida.

Coach of the Year – Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern,

Newcomer of the Year – Rondale Moore, Purdue, 5-9, 175, Fr., New Albany, Indiana.


u unanimous selection.


Voting Panel:

Bob Asmussen, news newspaper of Champaign (Illinois)

Bret Beherns, WCIA Radio (Champaign, Illinois)

Mike Carmin, Lafayette (Indiana) Journal & Courier

Matt Charboneau, Detroit News

Angelique Chengelis, Detroit News

Graham Couch, Lansing (Michigan) State Journal

Dave Eanet, WGN Radio (Chicago)

Justin Gaard, KFAN Radio (Minneapolis)

Parker Gabriel, Lincoln (Nebraska) Journal Star

Jason Galloway, Madison.com (Wisconsin)

Emily Giambalvo, Washington Post

Teddy Greenstein, Chicago Tribune

Mike Jacques, WMTV TV (Madison, Wisconsin)

Randy Johnson, Minneapolis Star Tribune

Chad Leistikow, Des Moines (Iowa) Register

Tim May, Columbus Dispatch

John McGonigal, Center Daily Times (State College, Pennsylvania)

Sam McKewon, Omaha (Nebraska) World Herald

Aaron McMann, MLive.com-Ann Arbor

Mike Miller, Bloomington (Indiana) Herald-Times

Marc Morehouse, Newspaper of Cedar Rapids (Iowa)

Josh Newman, Press of Asbury Park (New Jersey)

Zachary Osterman, Indianapolis Star

Greg Pickel, Penn Live

Kyle Rowland, blade from Toledo, Ohio

Keith Sargeant, New Jersey Advance Media

Dylan Sinn, Journal Sheet in Fort Wayne (Indiana)


For more information on AP College Football: www.collegefootball.ap.org and www.twitter.com/AP_Top25


Leave a comment

Send a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.