Madrid Wins Champions League, 4 Players Set Record for Most Titles

Madrid Wins Champions League, 4 Players Set Record for Most Titles


Real Madrid’s victory over Borussia Dortmund in the Champions League final made new history for four players. They managed to enter the list of players with the most championship titles.

Two goals created from Dani Carvajal’s header and Vinicius Junior’s shot in the second half ensured Madrid won 2-0 in the top match which was held at Wembley, Sunday (2/6/2024) early morning WIB. This title brings the 15th trophy for Los Blancos.

Especially for Nacho, Carvajal, Toni Kroos and Luka Modric, they have now won the Champions League six times, the most in the history of the competition.

These four players also equaled the achievements of another Madrid legend, Paco Gento, who was previously the only player with the most championship titles. He won the European Cup (the forerunner of the Champions League) six times in 1956-1960 and then again in 1966.

Like Paco, Nacho, Carvajal and Modric won all their trophies with Madrid. It’s different with Kroos, who won a Champions League trophy with Bayern Munich, his previous club.

Carvajal didn’t think he could be part of the record. He is also aiming for the seventh trophy. At only 32 years old, this is still possible to achieve.

“I’m very happy to be able to join this elite list. Every time we get one (more), it will become increasingly difficult to take the record from us. We know how difficult it is,” said Carvajal after the match, quoted by CBS Sports.

“I am very happy, playing all six finals in the starting XI with the club I love.”

“If I could talk to Paco Gento, I would say that it feels impossible to get on this list. Of course, why not dream of getting the next trophy? Whatever happens in the future, we’ll see,” stressed Carvajal.

List of Real Madrid players who have won the most European Cup/Champions League titles:

  • Paco Gento (1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1966)
  • Nacho (2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2022, 2024)
  • Luka Modric (2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2022, 2024)
  • Dani Carvajal ((2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2022, 2024)
  • Toni Kroos (2013*, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2022, 2024)
  • *) champion with Bayern Munich


    2024-06-02 05:30:15
    #Madrid #Wins #Champions #League #Players #Set #Record #Titles


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *