Italy’s High-Stakes Qualification for 2022 World Cup and Controversial Victory Over Ukraine

Once again, Italy played on the nerves of its supporters. Reigning European champion, the Nazionale played its qualification for the 2022 World Cup in a play-off against North Macedonia. An XXL failure which deprived Marco Verratti’s partners of a second consecutive World Cup. Yesterday, a new high-tension scenario for the clash against Ukraine.

The rest after this ad

A forgotten penalty for Ukraine?

Second in Group C of the Euro 2024 qualifiers, Italy had the same number of points as the selection dear to Andriy Shevchenko (13). The plan was therefore simple: a draw was enough for the Transalpines to validate their ticket to Germany. And in the event of defeat, no elimination, but a new barrage. Traumatized by their last experience in this area, the Italians did not want to relive such a nightmare.

Read Italy: Luciano Spalletti delighted with qualification for Euro 2024

Ultimately, the Azzurri were able to hold on to a valuable 0-0 for their qualification. ” We are very happy. Despite all the difficulties we encountered, we came back. We have a lot of pride, we thank our supporters who gave us an incredible helping hand in the last minutes. It can’t be explained, it was an incredible emotion. Now let’s think about partying together.”, welcomed Gianluigi Donnarumma. And if the Italian press celebrated the qualification, everyone saw the action of the match.

The rest after this ad

Nothing to report for the Italians

In the 93rd minute, Mykhailo Mudryk was brought down by Bryan Cristante in the penalty area. Referee of the match, the Spaniard Gil Manzano does not flinch. Nor the VAR. When questioned, Rebrov, the Ukrainian coach, did not hide his astonishment. “Cristante on Mudryk? For me, it was a penalty, there is no doubt. But it’s not up to us to decide. The referee was not called to check. There is the VAR, which obviously did not see fit to call the referee for control. ». On the Italian side, of course, the discourse is different.

” It’s not very clear. It seems that he didn’t touch it, but from the field, I honestly didn’t see anything: looking back at the images, I have the impression that he touched it, but if I see the images again , he didn’t even touch it », confided Interist Davide Frattesi. As for Luciano Spalletti, the transalpine coach was very brief: “penalty? No, he doesn’t touch it.”. But the images seem to say the opposite.

Pub. 11/21/2023 08:28 Updated 11/21/2023 08:52

2023-11-21 07:28:33
#qualification #scent #scandal


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *