Marc Polmans impressively demonstrated how close joy and anger can be in qualifying for the Masters 1000 tournament in Shanghai. Instead of the 26-year-old being able to enjoy his first entry into a Masters main competition, he was disqualified – and only one shot was decisive.
But what had happened? First things first: The Australian has match point against the Italian Stefano Napolitano at 7:6 and 6:5 in the tiebreak of the second set. But the current number 140 in the world sinks a feasible volley into the net and fires the ball that bounces there into the face of the chair referee. Almost certainly just an oversight. But the unsurprising consequence: the match is over, Napolitano, who just had match point against him, is in the main competition. Here you can see the scene:
As can be seen in the post above, Nick Kyrgios, also Australian, has already reacted maliciously via social media. “It will be exciting to see how high the fine will be,” wrote the compatriot on X (formerly Twitter). As Eurosport writes, Kyrgios also alludes in his post to his own fine from June 2018 of the equivalent of 15,000 euros, which he received during the ATP tournament at London’s Queen’s Club for an obscene gesture with his water bottle. His tweet with a smiley smiley suggests that he considers his offense at the time to be significantly less dramatic than Polman’s misfire.
#Marc #Polmans #scandal