Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay will automatically qualify (Fifa)

Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay will automatically qualify (Fifa)

Back to home / Sports

Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay, who will host three of the 104 matches of the 2030 World Cup, will also benefit from the direct qualification granted to the main host countries, Morocco, Spain and Portugal, said Thursday October 5 FIFA. If the intercontinental formula unveiled on Wednesday validates all the technical criteria until its final adoption at the end of 2024, the tournament will therefore start with six teams automatically qualified out of the 48 participating selections, an unprecedented proportion. Triple world champion, Argentina has played in every final tournament since 1974, while Uruguay has been in every edition since 2010. Paraguay, on the other hand, has missed the last three World Cups, and its last participation dates back to 2010 ( quarter-finalist). The three countries, initially candidates alongside Chile to host the tournament, finally gave up in exchange for the organization of the first three matches and the festivities for the centenary of the World Cup, the first edition of which was played in Montevideo in 1930.

Published on: 05/10/2023 – 11:25

1 mn

Argentina on top of the world after its victory against France in the final of the 2022 World Cup. REUTERS – CARL RECINE

Continue reading on the same themes:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *