The Cataractes crowned Most Outstanding Team

SPORTS. The 39th edition of the Gala Sport-homage Desjardins saw the Shawinigan Cataractes crowned, for their first ever President’s Cup, and the Club de canotage de Shawinigan, for holding the National Canoe-Kayak Sprint Championships, as the Team par excellence and the Event par excellence at the interprovincial, Canadian or higher level.

Here is the list of the winners of this evening which took place at Espace Shawinigan on Saturday January 14th.

Quebec-level male athlete par excellence (team sport)

Esteban Dessureault – Baseball (Baseball Academy of Canada / St-Exupéry High School)

Quebec-level male athlete par excellence (individual sport)

Louis-Karl Ménard – Mountain bike and road bike (Dalbix and Équipe Vélo Mauricie)

Quebec-level female athlete par excellence (team sport)

Alice Boivin – Volleyball (Estacades Academy – Mauricie Attack)

Quebec-level female athlete par excellence (individual sport)

Gabrielle Hamel – Athletics / cross-country (Club Zénix de la Mauricie)

Outstanding Male Canadian Athlete (Team Sport)

Mavrik Bourque – Hockey (Shawinigan Cataracts)

Outstanding Male Canadian Athlete (Individual Sport)

Édouard Beaumier – Canoe-kayak (Trois-Rivières Canoe-Kayak Club)

Canadian level female athlete par excellence (team sport)

Alizée Gélinas – Baseball (Women’s ABC / Team Quebec Select)

Outstanding Female Canadian Athlete (Individual Sport)

Marie-Frédérique Poulin – Athletics (Zénix de la Mauricie – University of Delaware)

Outstanding Male Athlete of International Level

Mathias Guillemette – Track Cycling (National Track Endurance Team)

Outstanding female athlete of international level

Tammara Thibeault – Olympic Boxing (National Olympic Boxing Team)

Outstanding Senior Athlete

Patrice Doucet – Athletics (Milpat Mauricie)

Coach par excellence

Marc-Étienne Hubert – Hockey (UQTR Patriots)

Development Coach par excellence

Jacob Landry – Judo (Seikidôkan Judo Club)

relief official

Nalla Fall (basketball), Simon Grenier (futsal), Patrick Hubert (football) et Alexandra Proulx (soccer)

Outstanding Athlete with a Disability

Guillaume Bénard – Athletics (Milpat Mauricie)

Volunteer Team or Outstanding Volunteer

Claudette Bergeron – Broomball (Amigo Jr Broomball / Annual Amigo Jr Broomball Tournament)

Outstanding Minor Team

Trois-Rivières Soccer Club – U14 Women

Excellent team

Shawinigan Cataracts – Hockey

Event par excellence at the interprovincial, Canadian or higher level

National Canoe-Kayak Sprint Championships – Shawinigan Canoe Club

Event par excellence at regional, interregional or Quebec level

Bécancour Color Marathon – Running

Achievement of the year

Thomas Couture (Robin Hood in archery – an arrow in his own arrow)

Nicholas Berrouard (winner of the Le P’tit Train du Nord marathon)

Patrick Charlebois (Completed the Volcano Marathon in Chile)

Hats off to Christian Langevin

Presentation of the Montreal Alouettes training camp at Cégep de Trois-Rivières

Stage victory for Hugo Houle at the Tour de France

Anne Lemay for her gold medal at the World Mixed Curling Championship

Marc-Antoine Camirand for his season in Nascar

Marie-Eve Nault for her induction into the Quebec Soccer Hall of Fame

Memorial tribute

Pioneer School, L’Académie les Estacades and Saint-Joseph Seminary to highlight the presentation for 15 years of a provincial school championship

Trois-Rivières rugby club (Les Braves) for its 30th anniversary

Polycourons Terry Fox from La Découverte high school for its 40th anniversary

The Green Monster of the West Mosquito Baseball Tournament for its 50th anniversary

Alain Thibault for 50 years of arbitration

Tribute to missing persons

Jimmy Thompson, Michel Béliveau, André Trahan, Gilles Joubert, Jean Asselinl, Claude Huard and Jonathan Beaulieu-Richard

Heart stroke


Elliott Gagnon



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *