Australian Open 2023: all the tournament champions

The edition of Australian Open 2023 will have some very large historical casualties among women, especially since the top tournament champion in the Open Era, Serena Williamswho won the Australian title seven times, retired from the game last year.

But it was not the only sound retirement that women’s tennis had in 2022, the other was precisely that of the Last Australian Open Champion: Ashleigh Barty, who surprised by announcing her departure from professional tennis at the age of 25, being consolidated as number 1 in the WTA ranking and having just won the first Grand Slam of the year. But in March, the Australian tennis player publicly formalized her goodbye.

At least, with the achievement that he reached a year ago in Melbourne, he returned the smile to his compatriots because It had been 44 years since a local player had won this trophy. The last time had been in 1978, when Chris O’Neil won it.

Australian Open 2023: a tournament historically dominated by local tennis players

For Australian tennis, it was a great drain that so many years went by without a local player lifting the cup, given that the dominance that the Australians knew how to have in this Grand Slam throughout its history was very great.

And of those champions the most important is Margaret Smith Court, who won the Australian Open 11 times. The first seven in the amateur era, when she was champion between 1960 and 1966. And since 1969, when the Open Era began, Smith Court kept the trophy in 1969, 1970, 1971 and 1973.

Also read: The hour of the “evolution” of Serena Williams, the multifaceted woman with a legacy that transcends the courts

The tennis quality of this great champion exceeded the Australian Open, since with these 11 Australian Opens, plus five Roland Garros, five United States Opens and three Wimbledons, she became the woman who won the most Grand Slam in tennis historycon 24.

Australian Ashleigh Barty won last year’s Open and retired from tennis two months later. REUTERS/Asanka Brendon Ratnayake/File PhotoFor: REUTERS

Australian Open 2023: the presence of Serena Williams

the american Serena Williams he won the first Grand Slam of the season seven times and the curious thing was that he achieved it in a very wide range of years: his first title was in 2003 and his last in 2017. And in the global count of major tournaments, Serena She was one behind Margaret Smith Court: she won 23 Grand Slams in her career (seven in Australia, three at Roland Garros, seven at Wimbledon and six at the US Open).

Other great champions that Australia had in the professional stage were the German Steffi Grafthe Serbian-American Monica Seles and Australia’s Evonne Goolagong, who have each won the tournament four times. Seles and Goolagong, in addition, were runners-up three times.

Australian Open: the champions of the Open Era

  • 1969: Margaret Court
  • 1970: Margaret Court
  • 1971: Margaret Court
  • 1972: Virginia Wade
  • 1973: Margaret Court
  • 1974: Evonne Goolagong
  • 1975: Evonne Goolagong
  • 1976: Evonne Goolagong
  • 1977: Kerry Melville (enero)
  • 1977: Evonne Goolagong (diciembre)
  • 1978: Chris O’Neil
  • 1979: Barbara Jordan
  • 1980: Hannah Mandlikova
  • 1981: Martina Navratilova
  • 1982: Chris Evert
  • 1983: Martina Navratilova
  • 1984: Chris Evert
  • 1985: Martina Navratilova

Also read: Ashleigh Barty broke the curse and the Australian Open has a local champion after 44 years

  • 1986: The tournament was not played
  • 1987: Hannah Mandlikova
  • 1988: Steffi Graf
  • 1989: Steffi Graf
  • 1990: Steffi Graf
  • 1991: Monica Seles
  • 1992: Monica Seles
  • 1993: Monica Seles
  • 1994: Steffi Graf
  • 1995: Mary Pierce
  • 1996: Monica Seles
  • 1997: Martina Hingis
  • 1998: Martina Hingis
  • 1999: Martina Hingis
  • 2000: Lindsay Davenport
  • 2001: Jennifer Capriati
  • 2002: Jennifer Capriati
  • 2003: Serena Williams
  • 2004: Justine Henin
  • 2005: Serena Williams
Russian Maria Sharapova won the Australian Open in 2008.

Russian Maria Sharapova won the Australian Open in 2008.

  • 2006: Amelie Mauresmo
  • 2007: Serena Williams
  • 2008: Maria Sharapova
  • 2009: Serena Williams
  • 2010: Serena Williams
  • 2011: Kim Clijsters
  • 2012: Victoria Azarenka
  • 2013: Victoria Azarenka
  • 2014: Na Li
  • 2015: Serena Williams
  • 2016: Angelique Kerber
  • 2017: Serena Williams
  • 2018: Caroline Wozniacki
  • 2019: Naomi Osaka
  • 2020: Sofia Kenin
  • 2021: Naomi Osaka
  • 2022: Ashleigh Barty


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *