ATP: Félix Auger-Aliassime loses a place; Denis Shapovalov out of the top-20

Quebecer Félix Auger-Aliassime lost a position and fell to 7th place in the ATP rankings, published on Monday. FAA admitted defeat in their first match, against Alexei Popyrin, at the Adelaide tournament last week.

Denis Shapovalov has lost four ranks and he is excluded from the top-20 of the ranking.

Spaniard Carlos Alcaraz, package for the next Australian Open, still leads the standings, ahead of his compatriot Rafael Nadal.

The latter cannot hope to recover the place of world No. 1 in the first Grand Slam tournament of the season: Alcaraz has few points to defend, having been eliminated in the third round in Melbourne last year from the tournament won by Nadal.

Alcaraz will keep his throne if the Norwegian Casper Ruud, 3rd, does not reach the final or if the Greek Stefanos Tsitsipas, 4th, and the Serbian Novak Djokovic, 5th and winner in the snatch of the Adelaide tournament on Sunday, are not sacred at the Australian Open.

In the rest of the Top 10, Russian Andrey Rublev climbs two places to 6th place, to the detriment of Canadian Félix Auger-Aliassime and his compatriot Daniil Medvedev.

Lorenzo Musetti, who lost Sunday in the United Cup final with Italy against the United States, obtained the best ranking of his career, at 19th in the world, up four places.

Norwegian Holger Rune, 10th, up one place, and American Frances Tiafoe, 17th, up two places, once again occupy the highest rankings of their respective careers.

Winner of the Indian tournament in Pune, the Dutchman Tallon Griekspoor gained 34 places and settled in 61st position, the best progression of the week in the Top 100.

ATP Ranking released on Monday:

1. Carlos Alcaraz (ESP) 6820 pts

2. Rafael Nadal (ESP) 5770

3. Casper Ruud (NOR) 5720

4. Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE) 5715

5. Novak Djokovic (SRB) 5070

6. Andrey Rublev (RUS) 3930 (+2)

7. Felix Auger-Aliassime (CAN) 3895 (-1)

8. Daniil Medvedev (RUS) 3860 (-1)

9. Taylor Fritz (USA) 3585

10. Holger Rune (DEN) 2876 (+1)

11. Hubert Hurkacz (POL) 2860 (-1)

12. Cameron Norrie (GBR) 2575 (+2)

13. Alexander Zverev (GER) 2560 (-1)

14. Matteo Berrettini (ITA) 2490 (+2)

15. Pablo Carreno (ESP) 2420 (-2)

16. Jannik Sinner (ITA) 2375 (-1)

17. Frances Tiafoe (USA) 2320 (+2)

18. Marin Cilic (CRO) 2060 (-1)

19. Lorenzo Musetti (ITA) 1925 (+4)

20. Karen Khachanov (RUS) 1885

22. Denis Shapovalov (CAN) 1830 (-4)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *