Controversy over Japan’s goal: why the goal was legal

It was a historic day for arbitration. We already anticipated before the World Cup began in Qatar that the French Stephanie Frappart would be the first woman to direct a match as main referee. This has happened in the Costa Rica-Germany. The collegiate has been accompanied in the bands by two other women. The Brazilian Back and the Mexican Medina. All three have been really good. In the match in Spain, the referee in the first half dedicated himself to trying not to get in the way. He could see that he is not used to the game of touch, without transitions. Regarding Japan’s controversial second goal, it must be explained that the referee’s watch has a chip that only indicates if the ball crosses the goal line. That is why in that Japanese goal they must wait for the VAR to determine if the ball goes completely over the baseline. The entire circumference must come out, not just the surface that is in contact with the grass. The assistant raises the flag, since for him, it comes out in full. They’re supposed to have drawn the line in the VOR room and seen that it wasn’t fully out. We lacked the image to prove it. I think that not showing the image raises many doubts. The luck for FIFA is that Spain has qualified. Because if you get to be left out… This can’t happen again and even less in a World Cup.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *