The eight hopefuls to win the Davis Cup

The list of participants in the final phase of the Davis Cup includes the two most successful teams in history, United States and Australiawith 32 and 28 titles respectively, and two others who have never won the salad bowl, Canada and the Netherlands.

Between both categories, spain It is the team with the best CV of the other four finalists, with six victories, followed by Germany, with three, Croatia, with two, and Italy, with one.

The leadership of Americans and Australians has a lot to do with their participation in the competition from early times, when Davis was banned from other countries. The North Americans were founding members of the tournament in 1900, Australia has played it since 1905.

But when it comes to the most recent history, It is the Spanish team that can undoubtedly show their chests: their six titles came between 2000 and 2019.

Spain is also the finalist with a fresher victory, in that 2019, since the last one from Croatia dates from 2018, the one from the United States from 2007, the one from Australia from 2003, the one from Germany from 1993 and the only one from Italy from 1976. .

Canada played the final match against Spain in 2019, at the Caja Mágica in Madrid.

The Netherlands cannot be compared to any of its rivals due to its history, but it arrives in Malaga with options: it was already ahead of the United States in group D to qualify for the final, in which it finished with full victories over three important rivals : Americans, British and Kazakhs.

The semifinals he played in 2001 are the best result of his 94 appearances in Davis.

Despite their lack of resume, the Netherlands have their little corner in the Cup record book: the Dutchman Michiel Schapers played the singles set with the most games in history, 46, in a tie against the Soviet Union in 1987. Andrei Chesnokov he won the set 24-22, before completing a 1-6, 6-2, 6-2 victory.

History of the eight teams and components:

USA: 32 times champion (between 1900 and 2007) and 29 times runner-up.

Team: Taylor Fritz (9), Frances Tiafoe (19), Tommy Paul (33) and Jack Sock (43 d.). Captain: Mardy Fish

Australia: 28 times champion (between 1907 and 2003) and 19 times runner-up.

Team: Alex de Minaur (24), Thanasi Kokkinakis (95, 18 in doubles), Max Purcell (33 d.) and Matthew Ebden (26 d.). Captain: Lleyton Hewitt

Spain: 6 times champion (2000, 2004, 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2019) and 4 times runner-up.

Team: Pablo Carreño (13), Roberto Bautista (21), Albert Ramos (39), Pedro Martínez (62) and Marcel Granollers (16 d.). Captain: Sergi Bruguera

Germany: 3 times champion (1988, 1989 and 1993) and 2 times runner-up.

Team: Oscar Otte (67), Jan-Lennard Struff (151), Yannick Hanfmann (140), Tim Pütz (17 d.) and Kevin Krawietz (25 d.). Captain Michael Kohlman

Croatia: 2 times champion (2015 and 2018) and twice runner-up.

Team: Marin Cilic (17), Borna Coric (26), Borna Gojo (147), Mate Pavic (7 d.) and Nikola Mektic (10 d.). Captain Vedran Martic

Italia: 1 time champion (1976) and 6 times runner-up.

Team: Mateo Berrettini (16), Lorenzo Musetti (23), Lorenzo Sonego (46), Fabio Fognini (56, 23 d.) y Simone Bolelli (21 d.). Captain: Filippo Volandri

Canada: 1 time runner-up (2019).

Team: Felix Auger-Aliasimme (6), Denis Shapovalov (18), Vasek Pospisil (115), Alexis Galarneau (214) and Gabriel Diallo (224). Captain Frank Dancevic

Netherlands: He has never been champion or runner-up.

Equipo: Botic van de Zandschulp (35), Tallon Greek track (96), Tim van Rijthoven (109), Wesley Koolhof (1 p.) y Matwé Middelkoop (22 p.). Captain Paul Haarhuis

Last winners:

2021: Russia

2019: Spain

2018: Croatia

2017: France

2016: Argentina

2015: Great Britain

2014: Switzerland

2013: Czech Republic

2012: Czech Republic

2011: Spain

2010: Serbia



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *