Ecuador National Team ‘Illegal’ Players Excluded from 2022 World Cup


The Ecuador national team crossed out Byron Castillo from the 2022 World Cup squad list. The right-back was previously accused of being an ‘illegal’ player by Chile.

Ecuador released the 2022 World Cup squad list, Monday (14/11/2022). Many young and experienced players were called up, from Alexander Dominguez, Moises Caicedo, Angel Mena, to Enner Valencia.

On the other hand, Ecuador did not include Castillo in the squad that departed for Qatar. The 23-year-old player was previously an important pillar the tricolor in the 2022 World Cup Qualification.

Byron Castillo’s name stuck out after the success of the Ecuador national team in qualifying. He is alleged to be a Colombian-born player who used a fake passport and birth certificate to be able to represent Ecuador.

The Chilean National Team protested against allegations of data and the use of fake Castillo passports. The Red objected in May 2022 and asked for Castillo’s qualifying matches to be annulled.

Castillo played a total of eight appearances in the 2022 World Cup Qualification, including twice against Chile. Ecuador won once and drew once in the meeting of the two teams.

Launch Sports world, Castillo was not called up to the 2022 World Cup after being sanctioned by the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS). CAS considers that the registration of the 23-year-old player as an Ecuadorian was carried out with false information.

CAS also sanctioned Ecuador with a three-point deduction for qualifying for the next World Cup in 2026.

Ecuador squad list for 2022 world cup

Kiper: Moisés Ramírez (Independiente del Valle), Alexander Domínguez (Quito League) and Hernán Galíndez (Aucas).

Bek: Piero Hincapié (Bayer Leverkusen), Robert Arboleda (Sao Paulo), Pervis Estupiñán (Brighton & Hove Albion), Angelo Preciado (Genk), Jackson Porozo (Troyes), Xavier Arreaga (Seattle Sounders), Diego Palacios (Los Angeles FC) ), Felix Torres (Santos Laguna) give William Pacho (Royal Antwerp).

Gelandang: Carlos Gruezo (Augsburg), José Cifuentes (Los Angeles FC), Alan Franco (Talleres), Moisés Caicedo (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ángel Mena (León), Jeremy Sarmiento (Brighton & Hove Albion), Jhegson Méndez (Los Angeles FC), Ayrton Preciado (Santos Laguna), Gonzalo Plata (Real Valladolid) give Romario Ibarra (Pachuca).

Penyerang: Djorkaeff Reasco (Newell’s Old Boys), Kevin Rodríguez (Imbabura), Michael Estrada (Cruz Azul) dan Enner Valencia (Fenerbahce).

Watch Video “Ahead of the World Cup, Qatar Installs 15,000 Cameras in 8 Stadiums
[Gambas:Video 20detik]



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *