Badminton tournament closes in Cancun – Luces del Siglo

  • The Benito Juárez Polifórum in Cancun hosted the Badminton Tournament, where 80 players from eight different schools participated.

CANCÚN, Q. ROO.- The Benito Juárez Polifórum in Cancun hosted the Badminton Tournament, where 80 players from eight different schools participated, in nine different categories, in order to improve the level of athletes in the Mexican southeast of for national and international events.

This contest was attended by students from 12 different institutions such as Othón P. Blanco, Anáhuac, La Salle, Cecilio Chi, Wichita, Yucatán, CDMX, Kuchil Baxal, Masters Cancún, Solidaridad and the State Selection.

“We are very happy because it is the first time that new teams have participated with us. On this occasion, the growth of badminton in Quintana Roo is noticeable, we already have more schools and fortunately everyone returned home with a medal or a place won and we are very motivated to continue and have better performances later on”, commented Alejandro Orozco , president of the Quintanarroense Badminton Association.

Below are the winners of this tournament; in the Under-9 category, first place went to Liam Encalada (Yucatán), second place to Andrea Lozano (Othón P. Blanco), while third place was occupied by Leonardo Orozco (Cecilio Chi) and Alison Ávila (Wichita); In the U-11, first place was won by Nóvak Gamborino (CDMX), followed by Jimena Rivera (Yucatán) in second place, in addition to Matías Aguiñaga (Kuchil Baxal) and Leonardo Orozco (Cecilio Chi) completing the podium.

In the Sub-13, Félix Gamborino (CDMX) was the protagonist, Luka Goy (Yucatán) was second and Nitza Herrera (Cecilio Chi) and Sofía Lazo (Othón P. Blanco) were third; in the Under-15 Félix Gamborino (CDMX) and Luis Martin (Othón P. Blanco) were the one-two, while Mateo Goy (Yucatán) and Héctor Montalvo (Othón P. Blanco) finished as third.

In the U17 Women’s Kassandra Luna (Yucatán), Isabel Meling (Quintana Roo National Team), Mariana Seita (Yucatán) and María Narváez (Quintana Roo National Team) were the winners; while in the Men’s category the winners were Elmer Ortega (Yucatán), Ruiz (Yucatán), Angel Gamborino (CDMX) and Patricio Meling (Quintana Roo National Team).

In the Open Women’s Initiation category, Josefina Zamora (Cecilio Chi), Sofia Hernández (Anáhuac), Ivana Beltrán (Cecilio Chi) and Luisa Machuca (Anáhuac) shone, as well as Jerson Andreco (Cecilio Chi), Juan Duarte (La Salle), Sebastián Velázquez (Kuchil Baxal) and Iván Vazquez (La Salle) in the Men’s.

In the Women’s Open, the first and second place went to the students of Cecilio Chi Daniela Cruz and Andrea Cruz, while in third place were Natalia Meling (Anáhuac) and Natalia Martín (Quintana Roo National Team); while the Manly dominated

Cristopher Varela (Anáhuac), Ricardo Orozco (Quintana Roo National Team), Francisco Flores (Independiente) and Elmer Ortega (Yucatán). For their part in the Masters category, Verónica Zapata (Cancún Masters), Alejandro Perera (Solidaridad), as well as Gonzalo Peña (Cancún Masters) and Guillermo Olvera (Cancún Masters) occupied the podium.

It may interest you: Mexico vs Argentina will be broadcast in Cancun park



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *