Basketball THY Europa League’s championship record is set by Real Madrid

In the league, which was played under the names of European Champion Clubs and European Clubs European Championship Cup for a while, the Spanish team holds the title of the team that put its name on the summit the most, 10 times.

Lastly, Real Madrid won its 10th victory in the 2017-2018 season by beating Fenerbahçe and won its first trophy in 1964. The Spanish team won the other 8 victories in 1965, 1967, 1968, 1974, 1978, 1980, 1995 and 2015.

CSKA Moscow in second place

Russian team CSKA Moscow followed Real Madrid with 8 championships.

The Russian team, which beat Anadolu Efes 91-83 in the final in the 2018-2019 season in the organization, won the European League championships in 1961, 1963, 1969, 1971, 2006, 2008 and 2016, where it played 14 times in the finals.

Russian teams, which were expelled from the league last season due to the war between Russia and Ukraine, could not take part in the organization this season.

Maccabi and Panathinaikos have six titles each

In the number one organization of European basketball at club level, Israel’s Maccabi and Greece’s Panathinaikos teams won six championships each.

Playing in the league finals 15 times, Maccabi took the top spot in 1977, 1981, 2001, 2004, 2005 and 2014.

Panathinaikos, who played 7 times in Cup 1 final, only lost to Israel’s Maccabi team in the Suprolig final in 2001. Panathinaikos took the trophy to his museum in 1996, 2000, 2002, 2007, 2009 and 2011.

Italy’s Varese team also won the cup 5 times.

Two champions from Turkey

Anadolu Efes and Fenerbahce from Turkey won the THY Europa League.

Anadolu Efes took the championship trophy to its museum in the last two seasons (2020-2021, 2021-2022) in the organization.

Fenerbahçe, on the other hand, reached the championship in the league in 2017.

Two trophies were held in 2001

Due to the disagreement between the International Association of Basketball Federations (FIBA) and the European Basketball Leagues Association (ULEB), two separate championships were held in the 2000-2001 season.

While FIBA’s Suprolig was played with 20 teams, ULEB organized the Europa League with 24 teams.

Maccabi Tel Aviv defeated Panathinaikos 81-67 in the last match of the Final Four held in Paris in Suprolig. In the Europa League, however, Kinder Bologna beat Tau Ceramica 3-2 in the 5-match final series and reached a happy ending.

After the agreement of FIBA ​​and ULEB, Europe’s biggest club tournament started to be played as the Europa League in 2002.

In 1988, the Final Four system was introduced.

The Final Four system in the cup was introduced in 1988.

The finals, which were made over double matches in the first years, were played as a single match on a neutral ground until 1987. In 1988, the Final Four system began.

The news presented to subscribers via the AA News Flow System (HAS) is published on the Anadolu Agency website, in summary. Please contact for subscription.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *