The most azulgrana European Championship

Next July 6 begins in England the Women’s European Championship, a tournament that will mark a milestone for FC Barcelona. The appointment will have up to 14 Barça players, a true record for the Club’s women’s football throughout its history. In fact, Barça will be the second team that contributes the most players to the tournament, only behind Juventus in Turin.

Of these 14 players, two will play for the Norwegian national team (Engen and Graham Hansen), one for Sweden (Rolfö), one for England (Lucy Bronze), one for Switzerland (Crnogorcevic) and nine will play for Spain (Paredes, Aitana, Mariona , Guijarro, Paños, Alexia, Mapi León, Pereira and Pina).

Representation on the rise

Barça representation in European tournaments has been gradually increasing in the last decade. After two editions without culé representation in the 2005 and 2009 tournaments, in which Spain failed to qualify, in the 2013 European Championship up to eight Barça footballers participated. All of them defending the interests of the Spanish team: Vicky Losada, Miriam Diéguez, Alexia Putellas, Virginia Torrecilla, Sonia Bermúdez and the recently signed Ruth García and Jennifer Hermoso.

In 2017, the number of participating Catalan footballers increased to 12. Of which eight represented the interests of the Spanish team and four other teams: Roddik Hansen to Denmark, Martens to the Netherlands, Bussaglia to France and Duggan to England. The eight Spaniards were Marta Torrejón, Alexia Putellas, Sandra Paños, Vicky Losada, Olga García, Bárbara Latorre, Leila Ouahabi and Mariona Caldenteny.

The growth of the culé women’s team has been accompanied, increasingly, by the presence of Barça players on the front page of international football, and the improvement of all women’s football in our country.

On the same day, July 6, in the opening match of the competition, the first Barça player will make her debut. It will be the turn of Lucy Bronze (England), who will face the Austrian team. The next day, on July 7, the Norwegians Engen and Graham Hansen will debut against Northern Ireland and on the third day of competition, on the 8th, it will be the turn of the Spanish who will face Finland.

Finally, on July 9, the last Catalans to make their debut will be Crnogorcevic (Switzerland) facing Portugal and Rolfö (Sweden) who will face the current champions, the Netherlands of former Barça player Lieke Martens.

The tournament will last until July 31, the day on which the final that will decide the new European champion team will be played at Wembley Stadium.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.