Copa Libertadores and Copa Sudamericana with Brazilian supremacy in Conmebol | Libertadores Cup

The Libertadores Cup will bring together in the quarterfinal phase, which begins on August 3, five Brazilian teams, including palm treeschampion of the last two editions, and three Argentines.

On the other hand, in the South American Cup The presence of the Brazilian representatives will be discussed by the Uruguayans from Nacional, the Peruvians from Melgar, the Venezuelans from Deportivo Táchira and the Ecuadorians from Independiente del Valle.

The round of 16 phase, which runs in parallel for both tournaments, came to an end this Thursday after three days of frenetic activity that left as superlative surprises the elimination of three entities with stale ancestry in American football.

Boca Juniors, six-time champion of the Libertadores, was removed from the competition on Tuesday at his home, La Bombonera, by Corinthians, who won 5-6 in a penalty shootout after the Argentines and Brazilians tied goalless in both encounters.

River Plate, four times champion, laconically said goodbye to the Libertadores by not being able to score at the Monumental against Vélez Sarsfield, who in the first leg won by the minimum.

Santos, the team that made Pelé famous and owns three conquests in the Libertadores, was removed from the South American on Wednesday after falling 2-4 at the Vila Belmiro stadium in a series of penalties with Deportivo Táchira. Brazilians and Venezuelans matched the series with identical 1-1 draws in the first leg.

Outside the football radar were the representatives of Bolivia, Chile, Colombia and Paraguay.

The second leg of the Copa Libertadores and Copa Sudamericana quarterfinals will be played on August 10. They were as follows:

Quarterfinals in Copa Libertadores

Atl Paranaense (BRA) – Students of La Plata (ARG)
Atletico Mineiro (BRA) – Palmeiras (BRA)
Corinthians (BRA) – Flamengo (BRA)
Velez Sarsfield (ARG) – Talleres (ARG)

Quarterfinals in Copa Sudamericana

Nacional (URU) – Atlético Goianiense (BRA)
Melgar (PER) – International (BRA)
Deportivo Tachira (VEN) – Independiente del Valle (ECU)
Sao Paulo (BRA) – Ceará (BRA)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.