The most coveted trophies in professional sports

Why are certain trophies so coveted?

Every weekend there are a number of youth and amateur tournaments Cups, Medals & Trophies. These also stand for success in a sporting competition and represent a nice confirmation for the active athletes. However, they do not reach the status of the most important trophies, which is primarily due to their traditional importance.

The most important sports trophies

In many countries, national championships are held in different sports, which are of great importance. Because the players can recommend themselves for higher tasks such as the national team of their country and subsequently also for international ones trophies to play. The most coveted sports trophies, which we would like to present below, include the football World Cup and the handle pot, which the best club team receives each season. But some of the trophies that teams compete for in the most popular North American sports can also look back on a tradition-rich past.

FIFA World Cup Trophy

The FIFA World Cup Trophy, awarded to the winners of the World Cup, is without a doubt the most important trophy in world football. Because only very few players are allowed to raise the trophy to the sky during their active career, especially since a football World Cup only takes place every four years. The next chance for the best footballers will come on November 21 at the 22nd World Cup in Qatar.

UEFA Champions League Pokal

The best club team in international football is honored with the coveted handle pot after the Champions League final, the last game of each season. Because that’s what the Champions League trophy has been called for decades due to its shape. Between 1955 and 1992 the competition was held under the name European Cup and since then under the current name.

Vince Lombardi Trophy (NFL)

The Super Bowl is the biggest sporting event in the world and afterwards the winner is honored with the Vince Lombardi Trophy as the best team in the North American football league. The trophy was named after the coach who coached the Green Bay Packers during the first Super Bowl in 1967. Until 1996, the winning team would receive the trophy in the locker room after the Super Bowl before moving on to presenting the trophy directly on the field.

Stanley Cup (NHL)

The Stanley Cup has been presented to the best team in the NHL since 1947 and is considered the most important trophy in ice hockey. The trophy was first awarded to Canada’s top amateur ice hockey team in March 1894. The trophy has only been awarded to professional teams since 1910 and exclusively to teams from the NHL since the 1926/27 season.

Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy (NBA)

The best team in the North American basketball league NBA has been awarded the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy since the 1949/50 season. In 1964, the trophy was initially named after one of the founding fathers of the NBA and has had its current name since 1984. Larry O’Brien was the NBA’s third commissioner between 1975 and 1984, taking the league a great leap forward during that time.

Wimbledon Championship Trophy (Tennis)

Which German does not know the picture of Boris Becker holding the Wimbledon Championship Trophy in his hands in 1985 at the age of just 17. The 44 centimeter high trophy is known as the Challenge Cup and has been awarded exclusively to the winner of the men’s singles since 1887. The winner of the women’s singles, on the other hand, has received the Rosewater Dish since 1886, which is somewhat reminiscent of the Bundesliga championship trophy.

Home page



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.