2023 Under-20 World Cup: Which Teams Have Qualified?

With Indonesia qualifying automatically as the host, the following is a list of teams that are confirmed to take part in the tournament.

The best talents in football are ready to steal the stage as the 2023 U-20 World Cup is held, which is scheduled to be held in Indonesia.

Here players who are eligible to participate in the upcoming tournament must be 20 years old or younger, born on or after 1 January 2003.

While some of them are still far from superstar level, they are definitely names to watch out for in the future. Players such as Diego Maradona, Lionel Messi, Paul Pogba to Sergio Aguero have all won the Golden Ball for the Best Player category at the U-20 World Cup before, while Erling Haaland won the Golden Boot as the top scorer in the 2019 edition.

The date for the upcoming event has yet to be confirmed, but this will be the first FIFA tournament to be held in the country, or the second U-20 World Cup to be played in Southeast Asia since the 1997 edition in Malaysia.

How many teams will compete in the 2023 U-20 World Cup?

The 2023 U-20 World Cup, which was originally held every two years but was postponed due to Covid-19, features 24 teams vying for the prestigious trophy.

The host country Indonesia qualified automatically. And here are 23 other tickets distributed worldwide:

Each region will hold an age group tournament which will determine which countries qualify from certain zones.

For example, the North American confederation CONCACAF will host the U-20 championship in the summer of 2022, with the four semi-finalists qualifying directly for the 2023 FIFA U-20 World Cup.

The 24 countries that qualify for the final stage will be drawn into six groups of four teams. The top two finishing teams in each group advance to the knockout stages, along with the four third-placed teams with the most points. The Round of 16 kicks off a single elimination bracket all the way to the final, much like the senior-level World Cup format.

Ukraine are the reigning champions, having won the 2019 edition of the tournament following a 3-1 win over South Korea in the final. But Ukraine could not defend their title after failing to qualify for the UEFA Under-19 championship.

Which Teams Have Qualified For The 2023 Under-20 World Cup?

Indonesia qualified automatically as the host of the 2023 U-20 World Cup, and they have joined the first two teams from Europe.

Article continues below

North America, Europe and Oceania will all stage a continental championship in the summer of 2022 to determine the representative of the confederation, while South America, Asia and Africa will all stage their tournaments in early 2023.

*Update until Thursday, June 23, 2022

**Regularly updated



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.