UNAM table tennis and badminton at the 2022 Universiade

Mexico City.- A total of 17 university student-athletes distributed among nine table tennis athletes and another eight badminton athletes from UNAM, qualified for the 2022 National Universiade, which will be held next May in Ciudad Juárez, Chihuahua.

It may interest you Nikola Jokic, chosen MVP of the 2021-2022 NBA season

In the women’s branch of table tennis. The auriazul players Sofía Pablo Espina, a student from the Faculty of Sciences, and Andrea Fernanda Leos Martínez, from the National School of Languages, Linguistics and Translation, both in the individual modality, won their ticket to the highest student fair in Mexico.

The athletes passed the Regional stage of the classification of the National Education Sports Council, in which seven players participated, divided into two groups: one of four and the other of three, and only two of each group could qualify.

In the case of Sofía Pablo from UNAM, she won all the matches corresponding to her group.

For his part, Andrea Leos faced his matches against rivals from the Higher School of Physical Education and ITAM, winning the second of them, which was enough to qualify.

In the men’s branch, the auriazules classified are Oscar Meléndez Díaz, from the FES Zaragoza; Andrés Rodrigo González Barrera, from the Faculty of Accounting and Administration; Emilio Romero Rangel, from the Faculty of Chemistry; Ricardo Olalde Gómez, from the Faculty of Sciences; Axel Ulises Reyes Gutiérrez, from the Faculty of Psychology; David Martínez Salazar, from the National School of Social Work; and Erick Daniel Bello Cruz, from the Faculty of Engineering.

Eight UNAM athletes qualify in badminton

UNAM badminton won tickets for the national student fair in individual women’s and men’s. As well as in female and male doubles, with Andrea Ángel Salazar, a student at the Faculty of Medicine.

Natalia Rodríguez Fernández, from the National School of Social Work; Daniela Torres Patiño, from the Faculty of Philosophy and Letters; Maira Berenice Vega Agustín, from the Faculty of Law; Enrique Anaya Aquino, from the Faculty of Engineering; Diego Chávez Segura, from the Faculty of Economics; Jorge Rodrigo Rodríguez Ávila, from the Faculty of Accounting and Administration; and Gerardo Saavedra Delgadillo, from the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and Zootechnics.

courtesy photo

Follow our social networks



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.