Demars wins second consecutive round of ‘Giro d’Italia’, Estonian still in third place in Tamar

On Thursday, in the 192-kilometer section, with one ascent in the fourth category, the winner was again determined at the finish of the sprint.

Demars (“Groupama – FDJ”) finished first after five hours, two minutes and 33 seconds in the distance.

He defeated Keileb Yuen, an Australian Lotto Soudal driver, and Mark Cavendish, a 36-year-old British sprinter in Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl, to defeat Lotto Soudal.

The top three in the overall standings has remained unchanged. The first is Lopess (Trek – Segafredo). He is lost 38 seconds by the German Lenard Kemna (“BORA – Hansgrohe”) and 58 seconds by the Estonian Rhein Täram (Intermarche – Wanty – Gobert Materiaux).

On Friday, cyclists will complete the 196-kilometer section with four categorized climbs.

The bike ride, which started this year with three stages in Hungary, will end on May 29 in Verona with stage 21 – an individual ride.

Last year, Colombian cyclist Egan Bernal of the Ineos Grenadiers team was crowned the winner of the bike ride.

This year the competition is held without Latvian representatives.

Resources used:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.