archysport

Newsletter

Nahuel Guzmán takes his first steps in Italian Basketball

The High Performance program that the Government of San Juan applied and supports (since the end of 2015) is also synonymous with the protection and support of hundreds of young athletes from San Juan. All these find in that one possibilities to achieve dreams. Nahuel Guzmán (20), a basketball player, is part of the staff and plans to achieve important things in his new professional experience in Europe.

From Italy, Nahuel told us his story and the expectations he has in his new club, Virtus Basket Molfetta. The goal is to learn a little more about this standard-bearer of the Sports Revolution. During the course of the online chat, the basketball player touched on different topics.

  • Nahuel, to start When and where were you born?

Good afternoon, My date of birth is 01/24/2002, I turned 20 this week.

  • How is your family?

My family is made up of my mother and my brother (he is 12 years old). Also from my grandparents, cousins, uncles. They are all a pillar in my life, the most important thing.

  • How were your beginnings in the sport?

I started playing basketball at the age of 11 at Club Atlético Urquiza because of my uncle, Cacho Guzmán, who is well known in the community. He guided me, and I found a passion in basketball. I went through the Mini and Sub 13 category.

  • Did a family member inspire you to start playing this sport?

My grandfather, his brothers, uncles played basketball in Urquiza. And my godfather ‘Cacho’ Guzmán encouraged me and took me to the basketball courts to start.

  • How has your sports path in basketball been?

At the age of 15 I went to Córdoba to the Barrio Parque Club, at that time I played in the Córdoba league and the team was in the Argentine league, but in this last tournament I did not play, I only trained. From the age of 15 until before the pandemic I was in all the San Juan teams, Binationals 2018, and in 2019 where we were champions in San Juan. I played in 2019 at Club Progreso de General Roca, province of Río Negro, a team that was in the Argentine league. Last year I was in Urquiza. I participated in many Argentine and regional games with the San Juan team.

  • What position do you play and what is your height?

My height is 1.98 meters, he plays as a small forward and can also play as a power forward.

  • How is your preparation physically and technically?

I train a lot, I spend a lot of time on it. In the club I train every day and I also focus on my fitness in the gym, which is essential for my performance. I have consultations with my nutritionist, since a good diet is also key and I also have sessions with my psychologist, to maintain a good mood.

  • How do you manage to keep studying and sports on par?

I finished my secondary studies in Río Negro in 2019 because I played in Progreso, General Roca, and I finished my last year there. Currently I am not studying any university career, but I am going to study Physical Education.

  • What are your short-term goals?

In the short term my goal is to adapt to the Italian team Virtus Basket Molfetta from Serie C, I have been in the country for three weeks, I only played two games and I am getting to know teammates and rivals, I am gaining minutes. My idea is to continue playing in Europe, I want to play in Spain, the language benefits me and having a Spanish passport.

  • And finally, what are your personal and sporting dreams?

My personal and sporting dream is to be a professional player in a major first division league. I would like to be able to play professionally in Spain. Also having a university degree, for me is paramount.

Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter
LinkedIn
Email

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending