Juventus had protested Chelsea’s first goal from Trevoh Chalobah which was considered handball. However, the goal was still approved. How come?
Juventus visited Stamford Bridge, Wednesday (11/24/2021) early morning WIB, to face Chelsea. Both are fighting for the status of group winners as well as tickets to qualify for the last 16.
Juventus who won 1-0 in the first meeting were under pressure from Chelsea from the early minutes. Juventus’ goal was broken first in the 25th minute through Trevoh Chalobah.
Beginning with a Ben Chilwelll corner, the ball failed to clear by Adrien Rabiot and then hit the arm of Antonio Ruediger nearby.
The ball then went to Chalobah who immediately shot him from close range. Wojciech Szczesny’s goal was broken and the Juventus players then protested the referee’s decision to approve the goal.
The referee then checked the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) to ask for consideration, whether the goal was legal or not. The referee’s decision was reinforced by VAR so that Chelsea were still declared 1-0 up.
Then, why was the goal still validated even though there was a handball? According to new rules from IFAB (International Football Rules Agency), a goal is canceled if the ball hits the hand of the player who scored the goal, not his partner.
If according to the rules of last season, then Chalobah’s goal was canceled because the ball must not hit the hands of a player of the attacking team, when the goal was scored, whether it was intentional or not.
In replays, the ball appears to have hit Ruediger’s chest before going into the hand. Chelsea finally won 4-0 through three additional goals from Reece James, Callum Hudson-Odoi, and Timo Werner.
Chelsea top Group H with 12 points from five games, head-to-head ahead of Juventus in second place, They both qualified for the last 16 of the Champions League.