Lille traps PSG and wins the Champions Trophy

The match: 1-0

Reigning French champion, Lille won the first trophy of the 2021-2022 season this Sunday in Tel Aviv, defeating PSG, the last winner of the Coupe de France (1-0).

Deprived of Kylian Mbappé, Neymar, Marco Verratti or Sergio Ramos, PSG came to Tel Aviv without its executives. A lack that was sometimes felt. Danilo Pereira wanted to take on this role of technical leader by coming down low in the middle of his two central defenders, Presnel Kimpembe and Tilo Kehrer, but without success. In great difficulty to organize the game of his team, the former midfielder of FC Porto was satisfied with side passes without effect.

As for the Northerners, they recited a serene score, without ever conceding great opportunities except the distant strike from Julian Draxler (28th) well repelled by Leo Jardim, worried a second time at the start of added time (90th + 1).

A solidity which coincided with that which we knew them last season. In the meantime, Jocelyn Gourvennec has succeeded Christophe Galtier, but the principles seem to remain the same. In a traditional 4-4-2 with the same players as last season, the Breton technician seems to be inspired by his predecessor.

Paris didn’t concede big chances either, and Navas couldn’t show off. He could hardly do anything on Xeka’s goal (45th).

Man of the match: Xeka and the flash of genius

Difficult to place a player above the lot. But Xeka was the only one to brighten up the evening. Although Achraf Hakimi was very restless on his right side, he was more low-key in the second act, sometimes letting his frustration flare up. During this time, the Portuguese midfielder was perfectly complementary with Benjamin André, still active in the Lille midfield.

It took only one ball for Xeka, well placed near the surface, to pierce the nets of the Parisian goalkeeper. A powerful and floating strike from the right instep that landed in Keylor Navas’ skylight.


Lille won its first Champions Trophy, after failing in particular against OM in 2011 (4-5).




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *