Home Tennis 2021 Olympic Games. Tennis: Format, surface, qualified… Everything you need to know about the tournament. Sport

2021 Olympic Games. Tennis: Format, surface, qualified… Everything you need to know about the tournament. Sport

by archysport

For the 16th time in its history, tennis will taste the joys of the Olympic Games. The little yellow ball will be represented at the great mass of world sport for a week in Tokyo from July 24 to 30. Here’s everything you need to know about Olympic competition.

What format?

It should first be noted that five tournaments will take place during this Olympic week: women’s and men’s singles, women’s and men’s doubles and mixed doubles. Doubles pairs are necessarily made up of players from the same nation.

The tournament will take place in 6 rounds for singles matches (64 players), 5 rounds for doubles (32 pairs) and 4 rounds for mixed doubles (16 pairs). Each time an additional match is played to award the bronze medal.

All the matches take place in two winning sets with tie-breaks in each set whether for women and men like what can be seen in Masters 1000. For doubles matches, a super tie -break in 10 points is played in the 3rd set.

READ ALSO. Calendar, times, broadcast… Everything you need to know about the Tokyo Olympics

What surface?

This year, the players will be playing hard in Tokyo. Contrary to what some might believe, any surface can be used during the Olympic Games. In 1992 in Barcelona, ​​clay was chosen, for example, just like Wimbledon turf during the 2012 Games in London.

Which qualified and which qualification system?

To succeed double Olympic champion Andy Murray in singles, 64 players will take part in the final draw. Ditto for women. To qualify, the first 56 of the ATP and WTA rankings on the evening of June 14, 2021 enter the final table. Among these 56 best players in the world, there can only be a maximum of four representatives per country. The remaining eight tickets will go to two representatives from South or North America, an Asian representative, an African representative, a European representative and finally a final representative who comes from Oceania.

READ ALSO. What are the main sites where the events take place?

Which absent?

Despite the Olympic prestige, several sizes will be missing this year. It is particularly striking in the male table and for various reasons. Rafael Nadal (n ° 3), winner in 2008, skips the Olympiad to preserve his physique, Dominic Thiem (n ° 5) prefers to prepare for the defense of his title at the US Open while Roberto Bautista Agut ( n ° 10) and Denis Shapovalov (n ° 12) indicated not to go to Tokyo because of the Covid-19. Roger Federer will not be there either. We can also add to this list Casper Ruud (n ° 15) or Jannick SInner (n ° 23).

In the women’s table, world number 3 Simona Halep was forced to forfeit due to insufficient recovery from her calf injury while Serena Williams (No. 8), winner in singles in 2012 and in doubles in 2000, 2008 and 2012 did not will also not be in the game. She did not specify the reasons. Angelique Kerber and Victoria Azarenka won’t be either.

READ ALSO. Federer, Nadal, Thiem… After the wave of forfeits, which favorites for the gold medal?

The history of the winners:

Since 1984, and the Los Angeles Olympics, tennis has always been an Olympic sport. It was used for a long time between 1896 and 1912 then more periodically in 1920 and 1924. This ranking only takes into account the results since 1984.

Men, single

1984. Gold: Stefan Edberg (Sue). Silver: Francisco Maciel (Mex). Bronze: Jimmy Arias (USA)

1988. Or: Miroslav Mecir (Cze). Argent: Tim Mayotte (USA). Bronze: Stefan Edberg (Sue)

1992. Gold: Marc Rosset (Sui). Silver: Jordi Arrese (Esp). Bronze: Goran Ivanisevic (Cro)

1996. Or: Andre Agassi (USA). Argent: Sergi Bruguera (Esp). Bronze: Leander Paes (Ind)

2000. Or: Ievgueni Kafelnikov (Rus). Silver: Tommy Haas (All). Bronze: Arnaud Di Pasquale (Fra)

2004. Gold: Nicolas Massu (Chi). Silver: Mardy Fish (USA). Bronze: Fernando Gonzalez (Chi)

2008. Gold: Rafael Nadal (Esp). Silver: Fernando Gonzalez (Chi). Bronze: Novak Djokovic (Srb)

2012. Or : Andy Murray (Gbr). Argent : Roger Federer (Sui). Bronze : Juan Martin del Potro (Arg)

2016. Or : Andy Murray (Gbr). Argent : Juan Martin del Potro (Arg). Bronze : Kei Nishikori (Jap)

Women, single

1988. Gold: Steffi Graf (All). Silver: Gabriela Sabatini (Arg). Bronze: Zina Garrison (USA)

1992. Or : Jennifer Capriati (USA). Argent : Steffi Graf (All). Bronze : M.J Fernandez (USA)

1996. Or : Lindsay Davenport (USA). Argent : Arantxa Sanchez (Esp). Bronze : Jana Novotna (Cze)

2000. Or : Venus Williams (USA). Argent : Elena Dementieva (Rus). Bronze : Monica Seles (USA)

2004. Or : Justin Henin (Bel). Argent : Amélie Mauresmo (Fra). Bronze: Alicia Molik (Aus)

2008. Or: Elena Dementieva (Rus). Argent: Dinara Safina (Rus). Bronze: Vera Zvonareva (Russian)

2012. Or : Serena Williams (USA). Argent : Maria Sharapova (Rus). Bronze : Victoria Azarenka (Bel)

2016. Or : Monica Puig (P-R). Argent : Angelique Kerber (All). Bronze : Petra Kvitova (Cze)


0 comment

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.