Southgate reveals why he brought in 4 right-backs at Euro 2020


England coach Gareth Southgate revealed the reason for bringing four right-backs at the 2020 European Cup. This could not be separated from the fact that the players are multifunctional.

Southgate, has announced the names of 26 players who will defend the Three Lions Team at the 2020 European Cup. An unusual step was taken by this 50-year-old coach to include four right-wing defenders namely Trent Alexander-Arnold, Reece James, Kyle Walker and Kieran Trippier.

It was previously predicted that Alexander-Arnold would not be brought to Euro 2020. This is because in the last few matches of the Three Lions, he had been overlooked by Southgate. However, Southgate apparently still entered the name Alexander-Arnold.

Southgate’s decision made the England squad at Euro 2020 feel lame. This is because on the other hand, England only brought two left-backs namely Ben Chilwell and Luke Shaw.

However, Southgate believes this will not disturb the balance of the team. The reason is, James, Trippier and Walker are multifunctional players who can play other than at the right-back position. Southgate also emphasized that his decision was purely because the four right-backs have performed well this season.

“Yes, we have four players who sometimes play right-back at their club,” said Southgate Guardian.

“However, Kieran here can play as wing-back also right back. Reece James can play as centre-back on the right in a three-back formation or wing-back right.

Trent plays at right-back and Kyle Walker, as you know, plays centre-back on the right in our back three. He also played as a left back during the match against Denmark. Reece James is also capable of playing in midfield like he did against Aston Villa.”

“Basically they are all in the squad because they are very good footballers and if I could pick five or six right-backs I probably would.”

Watch Videos”Alexander-Arnold’s stats for England debut
[Gambas:Video 20detik]




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.