Home basketball Giannis Antetokounmpo, winner of the 2019/20 NBA MVP

Giannis Antetokounmpo, winner of the 2019/20 NBA MVP

by archysport

In one of the most complicated moments of his sports career, with his Milwaukee Bucks without fighting for the ring and he without being able to help because of an ankle problem, Giannis Antetokounmpo has been designated MVP of the 2019-20 regular season. A prestigious award in which the Greek repeats as champion. With his second MVP, Antetokounmpo equals Bob Pettit, Karl Malone, Tim Duncan, Steve Nash and Stephen Curry, who also own two. With 3 left Magic, Larry Bird and Moses Malone; with 4, LeBron and Wilt Chamberlain; with 5, Jordan and Russell and with 6, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.

Giannis Antetokounmpo, 25, has averaged 29.5 points, 13.6 rebounds and 5.6 assists with the Milwaukee Bucks, the team with the most wins in regular season throughout the NBA (56-17). Stephen Curry, in 2016, was the last player to repeat MVP in two consecutive seasons.

Adrian Wojnarowski, de ESPN, has been the one who has advanced the great news:

So it has been the vote, with Antetokounmpo followed by LeBron and Harden:

Sad MVP?

The MVP comes to Antetokounmpo at a very delicate moment, after the Milwaukee Bucks were eliminated from the playoffs against the Miami Heat, without the Greek being able to play the fifth game of the series due to an ankle injury. But there is an even more blatant case. Dirk Nowitzki did not pass even the first round of playoffs when he was elected MVP, he was also the first European to do so (they fell to the Warriors) and Dirk had to wait until he was designated MVP to be able to leave the country. Until Nowitzki’s retirement in 2019, only four other players received the MVP of the season award and then failed to make it past the first round of the playoffs (Source: Enrique García).

  • Wes Unseld (1969)
  • Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (1976 .))
  • Moses Malone (1979 and 1982)
  • Russell Westbrook (2017)

The curse of the MVP

Giannis Antetokounmpo does not get rid of the bad streak in the playoffs suffered by the last players named MVP of the regular season. This is the third longest period without the MVP of the season ending up with the NBA title. In recent years, Stephen Curry (2016 – NBA Finals), Russell Westbrook (2017 – first round), James Harden (2018 – Western Conference Finals) and Giannis himself have gone through it twice (2019 and 2020). – Eastern Conference Finals and Eastern Conference Semifinals).

The longest period in history in which the same case occurs that currently occurs corresponds to the time between the seasons 1971-72 and 1978-79, while the second dates between 2003-04 and 2010-11.

0 comment

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.