Home Sport news DFB Women’s Cup: VfL Wolfsburg wins against Eintracht Frankfurt

DFB Women’s Cup: VfL Wolfsburg wins against Eintracht Frankfurt

by archysport

The footballers at VfL Wolfsburg are DFB Cup winners. In the final in Cologne, the wolves won 1-0 (0-0, 0-0, 0-0) against Eintracht Frankfurt in extra time. Striker Ewa Pajor scored the decisive goal in the 118th minute. Previously, goalkeeper Almuth Schult was thrown off the field with red after running into an opponent in front of her penalty area (96th). It is the eighth title for the woman from Wolfsburg, the seventh in a row.

The outsiders from Frankfurt strongly opposed it, but the technical superiority of VfL was evident, and so initially only the Wolfsburg had chances through Pajor, whose deflected shot just missed (9th), or Fridolina Rolfö (13th). VfL pressed until the break, but Oberdorf only hit the post (42nd).

Immediately before the end of regular time, Frankfurt’s goalkeeper Merle Frohms steered a lowering attempt by Rolfö against the post. When Schult caught Lara Prasnikar charging towards her instead of the ball while running out, she had to leave the field. Pajor managed to secure the title with her placed low shot.

It was the first final for the Eintracht team, but the previous club 1. FFC Frankfurt is still a record winner with nine cup triumphs. The clubs had merged last year, it would have been the first title under a new name.

READ Also:  Three Haaland goals make Norway cheer
0 comment

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.