Nikola Mirotic, MVP of the Endesa League

Nikola Mirotic, Barça power forward, has been chosen MVP Movistar of the Endesa League season 2019-2020, in a vote in which fans, players, coaches and journalists have participated.

The award was presented this Saturday in Valencia by his teammate Ante Tomic, captain of Barça. The entire Catalan team has wanted to accompany the Spanish-Montenegrin at the time of recognition.

The MVP of the season was also received in 2019 by Nicolás Laprovittola (Joventut), in 2018 by Luka Doncic (Real Madrid), and in 2017 by Sergio Llull (Real Madrid).

«The MVP for me means a collective work of the team. This award goes to all my colleagues who have helped me to be better every day. Each party has helped me to feel good. And of course to the coaching staff who have managed to put me in the best position, in which I feel effective. And also for all those who support us, the fans, “said Mirotic.

“I hope it is just a start and we can give them a new joy at the end of the season,” he added.

Mirotic has obtained the maximum score in the vote between players, coaches and the media, and has been second in the popular vote, totaling 90 points out of a possible maximum of 100. In this way, he has surpassed Facu Campazzo (Real Madrid) , second with 65, and Giorgi Shermadini (Iberostar Tenerife), third with 25.

The Hispanic-Montenegrin has been named Movistar MVP of the month on two occasions: October, with an average rating of 30, and January, with 28.7. He has also won two other Player of the Day awards, in 1 (39 valuation) and 4 (43).

Nikola Mirotic gets his second award as MVP Movistar after the one achieved in the 2012-13 season, then playing for Real Madrid.

In his return to the ACB, after six years in the NBA, the power forward becomes the first player in the last 17 years to win the MVP trophy of the season without having played in the league the previous season.

Likewise, Mirotic joins Darryl Middleton (Girona 1991-92 and 1999-00 and Caja San Fernando 1992-93) and Tanoka Beard (Real Madrid 1998-99 and Joventut 2001-02) as the only players to achieve the MVP Movistar of the season with two different teams.

Along with them, only Arvydas Sabonis (1993-94 and 1994-95), Luis Scola (2004-05 and 2006-07) and Felipe Reyes (2008-09 and 2014-15) had repeated the award.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *