The Balearic tennis player Rafael Nadal, the Catalan motorcycle racer Marc Márquez and the Spanish men’s basketball team they are part, along with other great figures of the world panorama, of the list of nominees to the Laureus Awards.

Both Nadal and Márquez will compete for the award to Best Male Athlete of the Year at the gala to be held on February 17 in Berlin with the Argentine soccer player Leo Messi, which receives its sixth nomination. They also appear next to them the athlete Eliud Kipchoge, the pilot Lewis Hamilton and the golfer Tiger Woods.

For its part, the Spanish men’s basketball team that won the last World Cup in China will qualify for recognition Best Team of the Year. In that category are also the Toronto Raptors of the NBA, the Liverpool and the American women’s soccer team, the South African men’s rugby team and the Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team team.

As for the individual female athletes form the list the gymnast Simone Bilesthe athletes Allyson Felix Y Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, the tennis player Naomi Osakathe footballer Megan Rapinoe and the skier Mikaela Shiffrin.

In category a Best Sportsman of the Year Revelation tennis players Bianca Andreescu and Coco Gauff, the Colombian cyclist, opt Egan Bernal, the Japanese rugby team, boxer Andy Ruiz Jr. and swimmer Regan Smith.

The candidates for Best Comeback of the Year will be this time the basketball player Kawhi Leonard, tennis player Andy Murray, Liverpool, swimmer Nathan Adrian, motorcycle racer Sophia Flörsch and rugby player Christian Lealiifano.

In addition, swimmer Alice Tai, athletes Omara Durand and Manuela Schär, wheelchair tennis player Diede De Groot, skier and cyclist Oksana Masters and triathlete and cyclist Jetze Plat aspire to be crowned as Best Athlete with Disability of the Year.

Finally, the list of elected to take the trophy that recognizes the Best Action Sportsman of the Year It will consist of surfers Italo Ferreira and Carissa Moore, snowboarders Chloe Kim and Mark McMorris and skaters Nyjah Huston and Rayssa Leal.

The public vote will also select the Best Sports Moment 2000-2020. Up to two dozen alternatives are presented in this case, which can be selected through



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.