ICC Awards Cricket Australia: Pat Cummins named test player of the year, Ben Stokes wins Sir Garfield Sobers’ trophy

| |

Catch all the balls of BBL | 09 live on Fox Cricket 501!

Pat Cummins’ stellar 2019 was recognized by the ICC, which named him cricket player of the year.

The ICC made the announcement on Wednesday revealing the recipients of its annual awards.

Cummins’ 59 wickets at 20.13 saw the 26-year-old hold the caliber of Ben Stokes, Mayank Agarwal, Neil Wagner and Stuart Broad for honor.

NZL / INDOffered by bet365

Scroll down for the full list of rewards!

Watch all KFC Big Bash League LIVE matches or on request with KAYO SPORTS on your favorite TV or device. Get your 14-day free trial>


ICC AWARDS: FIVE Australians named in the ICC XI test of the year, all but one snubbed on the ODI side

KOHLI KRYPTONITE: Paw nails Virat four times in a year

WHAT WE LEARNED: Finch is a great ODI and it is time for us to recognize it

The fast weapon took 14 more wickets than any other bowler hat in 2019, with Nathan Lyon second on that list with 45 to 33.26.

Only Wagner (43 wickets at 17.81) took more than 40 wickets in 2019 at a cheaper average than Cummins.

“It is a tremendous honor to be considered the best player of the past year and one that was certainly unexpected,” said Cummins from Mumbai. “I owe a lot to my team, my teammates and everyone involved in Australian cricket for what has been a very successful year for the team.

“The highlight was definitely the ability to hold back the ashes, which was a great reward for the hard work done on that tour.”

Cummins was also one of five Australians to form the ICC Test team of the year together with Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc and Lyon.

Labuschagne’s breaking year also made it a clear choice for the emerging cricket prize of the year. The 25-year-old was the highest Test runscorer in 2019, making 1,104 races at 64.94 and three centuries.

“It was exciting, it was a great journey and I am very humbled by this award,” said Labuschagne. “It was a great summer but the challenge is when you have such a summer is making sure you back it up and keep doing it.”

Meanwhile, England Stokes has been awarded the highest ICC award, the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the world player of the year.

Stokes made 821 races and took 22 wickets in a year which saw him win the first World Cup in England before single-handedly winning an Ashes victory at Headingley with one of the greatest test innings of all time.

With AAP


Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy: Ben Stokes

Emerging Cricket of the Year: Marnus Labuschagne

Test Player of the Year: Patrick Cummins

ODI player of the year: Rohit Sharma

T20 Performance of the year: Deepak Chahar, 6/7 against Bangladesh

Cricketer of the Year Associate: Kyle Coetzer

Spirit of Cricket Award: Virat Kohli

Referee of the year: Richard Illingworth

ICC Test Team of the Year:

Maynak Agarwal (India), Tom Lathmn (New Zealand), Marnus Labuschagne (Australia), Virat Kohli (c, India), Steve Smith (Australia), Ben Stokes (England), BJ Watling (New Zealand), Patrick Cummins (Australia ), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Neil Wagner (New Zealand), Nathan Lyon (Australia)

One-day ICC team of the year:

Rohit Sharma (India), Shai Hope (West Indies), Virat Kohli (C, India), Babar Azam (Pakistan), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Ben Stokes (England), Jos Butler (England), Mitchell Starc (Australia ), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Mohammed Shami (India), Kuldeep Yadav (India)

The records fall, Warner stands up

The records fall, Warner stands up




“I know he’s not Football Manager” Claret & Blue about Aston Villa’s lack of relocation activities

Ice hockey: NHL: Double pack from Draisaitl – Crosby shines on comeback


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.