OL win the Coupe de France!

The Lille, which was the first final, have held a little more than halftime before giving on two goals very close early in the second period.

With this victory, the Rhone players confirm their undivided domination of the Coupe de France (seven victories over the last eight editions) and remain in contention for a tripled Championship – Cup – Champions League – which they will play the final on May 18 to Budapest, facing Barcelona.

The queens of French football have however stumbled for more than a half-time on a team from Lille who always managed to slip a foot or a leg on the trajectory of the many opponents strikes.

"We must apply more in the last gesture," conceded the attacker Eugénie Le Sommer when returning to the locker room, under the eyes of the 9,518 spectators.

An undeniable superiority of OL

Message received five out of five by his teammates, first with a free kick converted by a powerful shot by Amandine Henry, served in the axis by Amel Majri (52)e).

A minute later, Shanyce van de Sanden from the Netherlands sent an angry header into Elisa Launay's net on a Le Sommer ball.

At the 65e minute, Ada Hegerberg had the opportunity to kill the match, but his point blank shot landed in the gloves of the Lille goalkeeper.

Despite the superiority of Lyonnaises more catchy and precise, the Northerners have reduced their delay to the 68e minute, after a duel won by Ouleymata Sarr against Lisa Weiss.

Stung, the players of Reynald Pedros reacted immediately and ended up making the break to ten minutes from the end.

On penalty, the Lyon captain Wendie Renard deceived the last defensive wall to seal the final score (83e ) and win the 8e Coupe de France in the history of OL Women.


In Châteauroux (Gaston-Petit stadium): Lyon beat Lille 3-1 (0-0). Spectators: 9,518. Referee: Maika Vanderstichel.

Goals for Lyon: Henry (52nd), Van de Sanden (53rd), Renard (83rd s.p.).

Goal for Lille: Sarr (69th).

Warning : Dufour (73rd) in Lille.

LYON: Weiss – Bronze (Buchanan 71st), Mbock, Fox, Majri – Henry, Fishlock (Kumagai 66th) – Van de Sanden, Marozsan (Bacha 66th), The Sommer – Hegerberg.

LILLE: Launay – Lernon, Nicoli, Coutereels, Dafeur – Boussaha (Boucly 88th), Polito, Demeyere – Mansuy (Diaz 60th), Sarr, Dufour (Bauduin 88th).

Leave a comment

Send a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.